Branko Galoić (Croatia/France)

Troubadour from the Balkans to the World

Singer songwriter, composer and guitar player, Branko Galoic was born in Zagreb in former Yugoslavia in 1973. Right from the beginning he combined rock with traditional Balkan influences.

In the year 2000 he moved to Amsterdam. A few years later, he recorded his first album, Above the Roofs, which was released internationally and received great reviews in the European Press. He collaborated with some of the best musicians from the Balkans such as Mostar Sevdah Reunion, Vlatko Stefanovski, Merima Kljuco, and his first album „Above the Roofs“ was produced by renowned producer Dragi Sestic (Mostar Sevdah Reunion, Amira Medunjanin etc).

Branko released two more albums in Amsterdam, Skakavac and Ej ti tu! and then moved to Berlin where he recorded one more album Super cug with Marko Jovanovic, a mouth harmonica virtuoso from Berlin. His music is based in the tradition of Ex-Yugoslavia and mixed with different styles such as Ska, Pop and Chanson. Over the years he has played with musicians from Greece, Turkey, Iran, Irak, Latin America, Holland, Germany, France, Ex Yugoslavia and so developped his own, unique style which has already been compared to the likes of Jaques Brel, Alain Stivell or Melingo.

Since 2014 Branko has been living in Paris where his release Angel Song (Silvox Records 2015) was celebrated by FIP radio as one of the discoveries of the season. In January 2016 “Angel Song” also entered the European World Music Charts on number 15 and was longlisted for the Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik.

Branko’s latest duo album One With The Wind with Paris based Portuguese guitar virtuoso Francisco Cordovil was released in 2018.


Available Projects

Duo Branko Galoić & Francisco Cordovil (2 guitars & vocals)
Branko Galoić Quartett (guit – voc – perc – cello)
Branko Galoic Skakavac Orkestar (5-7 brass bigband)


Discography

2018 One With The Wind (Galileo Music)
2015 Angel Song (Silvox Music)
2014 Super Cug (CD Baby, digital release)
2011 82 Ej ti ju! (Silvox Music)
2010 Skakavac (self-released/Xango Music, CD Baby digital distribution)
2005 Above The Roofs (Snail Records)


Press

“A pleasantly breezy album”
Songlines, UK, 2019

“There’s lightning-fast virtuoso guitar work that at times blurs the boundaries between flamenco and rock… An impressive melange of styles that works really well.”
http://www.blissaquamarine.net/, 2019

“Croatia and Portugal as an explosive mix (…) a bombastic experience.”
Mittelbadische Presse, DE, 2017

„… from Gipsy Balkan Brass to Turbo-Reggae and a kind of South Italian film music, reminding of a merry-go-round in a Fellini classic”
Radio Bremen CD Tipp Angel Song, DE, 2016

“The music is very lively, but also melancolic and romantic…with a touch of Ex-Jugoslavian feeling… I recommend “Angels Songs” at any time!”
Sound&Image on Angel Song, DE, 2016

“The beautifull Ej ti tu album!”
Mattie Poels, Radio 6, NL, 2013

“New strong hope for balkan music”
Zlatko Gall, Free Dalmatia, CRO, 2013

“You can wake me up with songs like Fraukje tango any time”
Ton Mass Volskrant, Amsterdam, NL, 2011

Merima Ključo & Jelena Milušić (Bosnia Herzegovina)

‚Lume‘ – Dramatic Love Songs and Dark Chansons

‘Lume’ is a thrilling project brought to us by two brilliant Bosnian musicians, Merima Ključo and Jelena Milušić. The enormous value of this conceptual work lies in the diverse cultural origins and languages of the repertoire – the love songs from different parts of the world combined with Ključo’s song cycle, based on Romanian, Croatian, Kosovan and Sephardic traditional pieces. In different languages, ‘Lume’ has various meanings: world, life, source of light, illusion, fire, spark, lover, humanity, more than love…, but all these meanings point in the same doubtless direction: life is passion and love!

The magnetic connection between these two musicians takes us on a dreamlike journey through diverse worlds of strong, expressive and yet subtle music. Jelena’s unique and rare, singularly versatile contralto complements brilliantly the notes of Merima’s concert accordion. Jelena’s voice transforms from one song to the next in a truly chameleonic and fascinating way. Together on stage Jelena and Merima, with just a voice and an accordion, build an atmosphere that is enchantingly theatrical: they completely wrap their audience in their wide-ranging performance that goes from grimly dramatic to fetchingly melancholic, only to dissolve into a cheerful, almost cabaret-like finale.

Acclaimed concert accordionist Merima Ključo masters a dizzying variety of music, her play moving by its depth of understanding and experience. Whether performing as a guest soloist with world renowned orchestras and ensembles, or as a composer and performer for theatre, movie and radio productions, her passion and mastery in both traditional and contemporary music allows her to explore new artistic dimensions combining them in a compelling and unique way.

Expressive and bold, Jelena Milušić is a singer who easily transforms her voice to the needs of various genres ranging from blues, jazz, rock to traditional Balkan and world music. With Orchestre National du Vetex, Milušić performed throughout Europe. With Bosnian guitarist Atilla Aksoj, she interprets Sephardic and Romani music under the name Barimatango.


Line up

Merima Ključo – concert accordion
Jelena Milušić – vocals


Diskography

2018 Lume, Croatia Records


Press

“Mind-blowing! Pleasant pain is caused on the one hand by the richness of Merima Ključo’s artistic expression, whose every tone, interval, chord or cluster on the accordion grow out of layers of determination and melancholy. And when Jelena Milušić’s incredible vocal gets involved, I wonder if Merima’s accordion has a human voice among its registers.”
Marija Vitas, ethnomusicologist & Editor in Chief, Serbian World Music Magazine (RS)

“When one makes love it is usually behind some kind of closed door, but there Merima and Jelena were, making love with their music, for all of us to see. Very Sexy.”
Kathleen Kaun, soprano, former Chair of Voice and Opera at Rice University, USA
 
“Jelena is absolutely unique and stirringly chameleon-like.”
Maja Vasiljevic, Rumbo al Este, Radio Clásica, RTVE, Spain

“The touch that Merima has to the accordion tunes easily with the most recondite of the human soul. No matter which repertoire she plays or where the listener comes from, Merima is a true wizard whose magic spell works universally! If one really pays attention to her art, one falls at her feet forever.”
Maja Vasiljevic, Rumbo al Este, Radio Clásica, RTVE, Spain
 
“Jelena Milušić’s powerful contralto voice, rich in deep resonances,
with full sense of drama…”
Francesco Martinelli, New York City Jazz Record

Branko Galoić (Kroatien/Frankreich)

Troubadour mit Tiefgang und Partytauglichkeit

Der Singer-Songwriter, Komponist und Gitarrist Branko Galoić wurde 1973 in Zagreb noch im damaligen Jugoslawien geboren. Von Anfang an verband er Rockmusik mit Elementen der traditionellen Balkanmusik.

2000 zog Branko nach Amsterdam. Ein paar Jahre später erschien bei Snail Records sein Debütalbum Above The Roofs, produziert von Dragi Sestić, dem Produzenten der Mostar Sevdah Reunion. Die CD wurde international veröffentlicht und erhielt in ganz Europa hervorragende Kritiken. Branko Galoić hat mit einigen der herausragendsten Balkan MusikerInnen gearbeitet wie zb Mostar Sevdah Reunion, Vlatko Stefanovski oder Merima Kljuco. In Amsterdam brachte er zwei weitere Alben heraus, Skakavac und Ej ti tu!, anschliessend lebte er für einige Jahre in Berlin, wo er mit dem Mundharmonikavirtuosen Marko Jovanović Super Cug einspielte.

Die Musik von Branko Galoić wurzelt in der Tradition Ex-Jugoslawiens und mischt sich mit den verschiedensten Stilen von Rock über Ska, Pop und Chanson. Über die Jahre hat er mit MusikerInnen aus Griechenland, der Türkei, dem Libanon, Irak, aus Lateinamerika, Holland, Deutschland, Frankreich und Ex-Jugoslawien gespielt und aus all diesen Einflüssen seinen eigenen unverwechselbaren Stil kreiert, der auch schon mit Troubadouren wie Jaques Brel oder Alain Stivell verglichen wurde.

Seit 2014 lebt Branko in Paris, wo sein Ende 2015 erschienenes Album Angel Song vom kultigen FIP Radio als eine der Entdeckungen der Saison gefeiert wurde. Das Album schaffte es auf Anhieb auf Platz 15 der World Music Charts Europe und wurde auch für den Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik nominiert. Seit 2016 wird Angel Song von Galileo Music im deutschsprachigen Raum vertrieben.

2018 erschien das  neue Duoalbum One With The Wind mit dem ebenfalls in Paris lebenden portugiesischen Gitarristen Francisco Cordovil.


Aktuelle Projekte

Duo Branko Galoić & Francisco Cordovil (2 Gitarren & Gesang)
Branko Galoić Quartett (guit – voc – perc – cello)
Branko Galoić Skakavac Orkestar (5-8 Bigband mit Bläsern)


Diskografie

2018 One With The Wind (Galileo Music)
2015 Angel Song (Silvox Music/Galileo Music)
2014 Super Cug (CD Baby, digital release)
2011 82 Ej ti tu! (Silvox Music)
2010 Skakavac (self-released/Xango Music, CD Baby digital distribution)
2005 Above The Roofs (Snail Records)


Presse

„Ein spannendes Roadmovie, das die flimmernden Töne des Südens mit nur zwei Gitarren in all ihrer Intensität und einer hautnahmen Körperlichkeit bündelt.“
Stefan Franzen, Programmbuch Festival Herbstgold, AT, 2018

„Kroatien und Portugal als explosive Mischung (…) ein bombastisches Erlebnis“
Mittelbadische Presse, DE, 2017

„Auf Angel Song präsentiert Galoić einen phasenweise eklektisch wirkenden, aber unverwechselbar eigenen Stil … vom Gipsy Balkan Brass über Turbo-Reggae bis hin zu süditalienisch anmutender Filmmusik, so als drehe sich ein Kirmeskarussell in einem Fellini-Klassiker.“
Radio Bremen CD Tipp Angel Song, DE, 2016

„Die Musik der Kombo ist sehr schwungvoll, aber auch wehmütig-romantisch bis verträumt, ganz wie man das von stilvollem Balkan-Folk gewohnt ist. Dazu kommt noch die unaufdringliche Nähe, mit der die Musik an den Mann (oder an die Frau) gebracht wird. Dann noch ein Touch Ex-Jugoslawien-Feeling, denn immerhin spielte sich ein Teil seiner Jugend noch im Tito-Reich ab. Und das hört man hier und da schon noch heraus. Mit anderen Worten: Die „Angel Songs“ sind jederzeit zu empfehlen.“
Sound&Image über Angel Song, DE, 2016

„New strong hope for balkan music“
Zlatko Gall, Free Dalmatia, CRO, 2013

„You can wake me up with songs like Fraukje tango any time“
Ton Maas Volskrant, Amsterdam, NL, 2011

Merima Ključo & Jelena Milušić (Bosnien-Herzegowina)

‚Lume‘ – Dramatische Liebeslieder und Dunkle Chansons

Lume ist ein spannendes Projekt der zwei international renommierten bosnischen Musikerinnen Merima Ključo und Jelena Milušić. Das Programm präsentiert Liebeslieder verschiedener kultureller Hintergründe und Sprachen sowie einen von Ključo komponierten Liederzyklus, der auf traditionellen rumänischen, kroatischen, kosovarischen und sephardischen Musikstücken basiert. Das Wort Lume hat in verschiedenen Sprachen unterschiedliche Bedeutungen – Welt, Leben, Quelle des Lichts, Illusion, Feuer, Funken, Liebhaber, Menschlichkeit, mehr als Liebe – alle Bedeutungen weisen unzweifelhaft in eine Richtung: Leben ist Leidenschaft und Liebe!

Ključo und Milušić, zwischen denen eine Art blindes Einverständnis zu herrschen scheint, nehmen uns mit auf eine traumartige Reise durch unterschiedliche Welten. Wir hören starke und expressive und dennoch subtile Klänge. Jelenas einzigartiger und außergewöhnlich vielseitiger Alt harmoniert glänzend mit Merimas Konzertakkordeon. Ihre faszinierende Stimme verwandelt sich chamäleonhaft von einem Lied zum nächsten. Nur mit Stimme und Akkordeon erschaffen Jelena und Merima auf der Bühne eine betörende Atmosphäre. Sie ziehen ihr Publikum in den Bann einer facettenreichen Aufführung, die sich von düsterer Dramatik über bezaubernde Melancholie schließlich in einem heiteren, fast kabarettartigen Finale auflöst.

Die gefeierte Konzertakkordeonistin Merima Ključo ist in schwindelerregend vielen Stilen zuhause, und ihr Spiel berührt durch tiefes Verständnis und Erfahrung. Ob als Gastsolistin mit weltbekannten Orchestern und Ensembles oder als Komponistin und Interpretin in Theater-, Film- und Radioproduktionen – ihre Passion und Meisterschaft in traditioneller wie zeitgenössischer Musik erlauben ihr das Erforschen neuer künstlerischer Dimensionen, die sie auf einzigartige und unwiderstehliche Weise kombiniert.

Die Stimme der ausdrucksstarken und kühnen Sängerin Jelena Milušić passt sich mit Leichtigkeit den verschiedensten Genres an. Jelena ist in den unterschiedlichsten Musiksprachen zuhause, die von Blues über Jazz und Rock bis hin zu traditioneller Balkan- und Weltmusik reichen, und sie ist in vielen verschiedenen Stilen und Zusammenhängen aufgetreten. Mit dem belgischen Orchestre National du Vetex tourte sie durch ganz Europa, und mit dem bosnischen Gitarristen  Atilla Aksoj widmet sie sich unter dem Namen Barimatango der Roma- und sephardischen  Musiktradition.


Besetzung

Merima Ključo – Konzertakkordeon
Jelena Milušić – Gesang


Diskographie

2018 Lume, Croatia Records


Presse

„Umwerfend!“
Marija Vitas über Lume, Etnoumlje, Serbian World Music Magazine, RS
 
„Ihr wunderbares Zusammenspiel und Merimas Kompositionen gehen weit darüber hinaus, dass zwei Personen mit Akkordeon und Stimme Musik machen – sie stehen für das Leben selbst.“
Kathleen Kaun, Sopran, Lehrstuhl für Chormusik und Gesang an der Rice University, USA
 
„Ich denke, das ist ein fantastischer Start, weil sie das Publikum umarmen und einen mitnehmen.“
Michael Dreyer, künstlerischer Leiter des Morgenland Festival, DE

„Sagenhaft schön und auch ruhig mal düster.“
Ankündigung Jazz&The City Salzburg, AT
 
„Merima berührt mit ihrem Akkordeonspiel den tiefsten Grund der menschlichen Seele. Sie ist eine Zauberin deren Magie universell wirkt, egal welches Repertoire sie spielt oder woher das Publikum kommt. Wer sich auf ihre Kunst einlässt, verfällt ihr für immer.“
Maja Vasiljevic, Rumbo al Este, Radio Clásica, RTVE, ES

„Jelenas kraftvoller Alt ist voller tiefer Resonanzen und Sinn fürs Theatralische“
Francesco Martinelli, New York City Jazz Record
, US