Gaia Cuatro (Japan/Argentina)

A puzzling encounter between Argentina and Japan on the frontier of Jazz

The fiery and intense character of Argentine music, mixed with the refinement of Japanese musical tradition provide the raw materials for this exceptional quartet, created from the meeting of two major symbols of Japanese jazz and two inventive Argentine musicians from the European scene.

The mind-blowing virtuosity of the violinist Aska Kaneko – a true star in her native Japan – is well served by Gerardo Di Giusto’s sophisticated and colorful compositions. Creating rhythms, in all their subtle distinctions, which respond to this ensemble in perfect harmony, weaving in the surprising conversation between bass player Carlos Buschini and percussionist Yahiro Tomohiro.

These four musicians are taking the art of improvisation to a whole new level, away from predictable formulas. As a matter of fact, they are shaping a new style of music. Nevertheless, its natural elegance makes it still sound surprinsingly familiar to us.


Line up

Gerardo di Giusto – piano
Aska Kaneko – violin
Carlos “el tero” Buschini – bass, double bass
Tomohiro Yahiro – drums


Discography

2015 Kaze feat. Paolo Fresu, Solis String Quartet (Abeat Records)
2010 Haruka feat. Paulo Fresu (Abeat Records)
2008 Udin (Abeat Records)
2007 Gaia Cuatro (Cristal Records)


Press

„Jazz improvisation between Japanese and Argentine musicians may sound a bit strange to some of us, but the visitors of Teatro Verme definitely learned the opposite. The concert of Gaia Cuatro was a positive surprise in building a wonderful bridge between two cultures that have nothing in common”.
IFG Online, Milan 2007

„The Argentine-Japanese ensemble with their totally new hybrid sound certainly was the most original contribution in this season of Charleville Action Jazz“.
L’Ardennais 2007

“This fascinating mix is based on the quality of the compositions but also on the musicians intense complicity and lust of playing which from the first moment captured the audience.”
L’Ardennais 2007

Gaia Cuatro (Japan/Argentinien)

Eine unerwartete Begegnung zwischen Argentinien und Japan an der Grenze zum Jazz

Die Intensität und Heissblütigkeit argentinischer Musik gemeinsam mit der Raffinesse der musikalischen Tradition Japans bilden das Rohmaterial dieses aussergewöhnlichen Quartetts. Alles begann mit der Begegnung von zwei emblematischen Figuren der japanischen Jazzszene mit zwei innovativen argentinischen Jazzmusikern, die sich bereits in Europa einen Namen gemacht hatten.

Die atemberaubende Virtuosität der Violinistin Aska Kaneko – in ihrer Heimat seit langem ein Star – findet ihre ideale Basis in den feinsinnigen und doch feurigen Kompositionen Gerardo di Giustos, und durch das perfekte Gleichgewicht und die subtile Rhythmik des Dialogs zwischen dem Bassisten Carlos „el tero“ Buschini und dem Perkussionisten Yahiro Tomohiro fügt sich alles zu einem überraschenden Ganzen.

Vier Musiker die die Kunst der Improvisation zur höchsten Perfektion bringen, sich fröhlich über etablierte Konventionen hinwegsetzen und wie nebenbei eine vollkommen neuartige Musik schaffen, deren Natürlichkeit und Eleganz sie in unseren Ohren doch wieder seltsam vertraut klingen lässt.


Besetzung

Gerardo di Giusto – piano
Aska Kaneko – Violine
Carlos “el tero” Buschini – Bass, Kontrabass
Tomohiro Yahiro – Schlagzeug


Diskographie

2015 Kaze feat. Paolo Fresu, Solis String Quartet (Abeat Records)
2010 Haruka feat. Paulo Fresu (Abeat Records)
2008 Udin (Abeat Records)
2007 Gaia Cuatro (Cristal Records)


Presse

“Jazzimprovisation zwischen japanischen und argentinischen Musikern mag manchem etwas seltsam vorkommen, und doch wurden die BesucherInnen des Teatro Verme eines Besseren belehrt. Das Konzert von Gaia Cuatro bot die unerwartet positive Überrraschung eines erfolgreichen Brückenschlags zwischen zwei Kulturen, die so gut wie gar nichts miteinander zu tun haben“.
IFG Online, Mailand 2007

„Die argentinisch- japanische Formation mit ihrer vollkommen neuartigen musikalischen Fusion war sicher der originellste Beitrag zur aktuellen Saison von Charleville Action Jazz.“
L’Ardennais 2007

„Diese höchst gelungene Mischung beruht zu einem grossen Teil auf der Qualität der Kompositionen, aber auch der engen Verbundenheit der Musiker und ihrer enormen Spielfreude, die vom ersten Moment an mit dem Publikum zu teilen wissen.“
L’Ardennais 2007