Maria João

Portugal’s Grande Dame of Vocal Acrobacy

Maria João
CultureWorks Artist 2014-2017

This artist profile is no longer updated.

Website: mariajoao.org
Origin: Portugal
Booking: Sabina Schebrak

About

It is difficult to find a category for Portuguese singer Maria Joao as with each of her projects she enters new artistic territories. Avantgarde, modern jazz, Latinamerican music, Portuguese folclore – Maria Joao plays with the most different genres and embraces them through her personal style of interpretation. She presents her songs as mini dramas full of grace and explosive passion, accompanied by dramatic body language, gestures and dancing steps. The infinite range of her voice oscillates between all colours and intensities, jubilating and whispering in fascinating poignancy.

For more than 25 years she has been regularly working together with pianist Mário Laginha, together they have released dozens of CDs and given hundreds of concerts all over the world. Clearly influenced by jazz Joao and Mário’s art incorporates influences from other musical universes (Portuguese popular music, Brazilian, African, classical). The music they play is set by a mixture of formal discipline, creativity, intuition, complicity and technical competence.

Apart from her work with Mario Laginha, Maria João has shared the stage with numerous great Portuguese and international (jazz) names such as e.g. António Pinho Vargas, Carlos Bica, Gilberto Gil, Joe Zawinul, Laureen Newton, Miroslav Vitous, Charlie Mariano, Aki Takase, Niels Henning. With her new project OGRE she has recently started to explore the relation between jazz, pop and electronic sounds; a new album with Shakespeare’s sonnets will be released in 2017. And on MAR AFORA, Maria’s brand new duo project with Brazilian guitarist and composer Guinga, she devotes herself to her love to MPB, Música Popular Brasileira.


Current Projects

Guinga & Maria João (duo guitar & vocals)
Maria Joao OGRE (trio or quintet, vocals & electronics)
Maria Joao & Mario Laginha Iridescente (quartet)
Maria Joao & Mario Laginha (duo voice & piano)


Discography

2015 Mar Afora, Guinga & Maria João
2014 Plástico, Maria Joao OGRE
2012 Iridescente, Maria Joao & Mário Laginha
2012 Electrodoméstico, Maria Joao OGRE
2011 Amoras e Framboesas
2010 Follow the Songlines, Maria Joao & David Linx & Mário Laginha
2008 Maria Joao & Mário Laginha
2007 Joo
2004 Tralha, Maria Joao & Mário Laginha
2002 Undercovers
2001 Mumadj
2000 Chorinho Feliz, Maria Joao & Mário Laginha
1999 Lobos, Rabosas e Coiotes, Maria Joao & Mário Laginha
1998 Cor, Maria Joao & Mário Laginha
1996 Fábula
1994 Dancas, Maria Joao & Mário Laginha
1992 Sol
1992 Alice
1989 Looking for Love, Maria Joao & Aki Takase
1986 Conversa
1985 Cem Caminhos
1983 Quinteto Maria Joao


Press

“Who knows if this performance by Maria João’s OGRE trio wasn’t the pièce de résistance of this year….The divine Maria João knocked out the public of the 4th Katowice JazzArt Festival.”
http://artrock.pl/ PL, 2014

The electrifying stage presence of Maria Joao fascinated the audience from the first to the last minute. The phenomenous range of her voice from very deep to very high and her overwhelming improvisational skill make the big difference. She switches from the oriental sound of an arab singer to the voice of an old Candomblé priest – a simply breathtaking performance”.
Rolling Stone Brasil, 2012

“Vocal acrobat Maria Joao transported her audience to a fantasy world. Sparkling with ideas, she sang lively like a child, sensually like a woman, deep like a man, continuously changed her roles, conducted imaginary dialogues using her eyes, arms and the whole body. Charming, profound and marvelously funny”.
Göttinger Tagblatt, Magazin, D, 2012

“The great consolation of this experience for me was the beauty of Joao’s voice. Her range is extraordinary, in terms of both dynamics and tone, and her improvisational exuberance promises to break all conceivable boundaries, of musical genre, identity and perhaps even the known laws of the physical universe”.
Tromsoby, N, 2012

Maria João (Portugal)

Portugals Grande Dame der Stimmakrobatik

Es ist schwer, die Sängerin Maria Joao in eine musikalische Schublade zu stecken. Schon alleine deshalb, weil sie mit jedem ihrer Alben künstlerisches Neuland beschreitet. Avantgarde, moderner Jazz, lateinamerikanische Musik, portugiesische Folklore – Maria Joao bedient sich der unterschiedlichsten Genres und macht sich diese durch ihre persönliche Art der Interpretation zu eigen. Mit grösster Anmut und explosiver Emotionalität setzt sie ihre Songs theatralisch um, sie untermalt das Geschehen mit dramatischer Körpersprache, Gesten und Tanzschritten. Ihre Stimme der unbegrenzten Möglichkeiten wechselt ansatzlos Farbe und Attacke, juchzt, haucht und flüstert mit faszinierender Eindringlichkeit.

Seit mehr als 25 Jahren arbeitet sie regelmässig mit dem Pianisten Mário Laginha zusammen, mit dem sie Dutzende von Alben veröffentlicht und hunderte Konzerte auf der ganzen Welt gegeben hat. Der unverwechselbare Stil der beiden ist klar vom Jazz beeinflusst und vermischt sich mit portugiesischer Volksmusik ebenso wie mit brasilianischen, afrikanischen und klassischen Elementen, getragen von einem verlässlichen Mix aus Formendisziplin, Kreativität, Intuition, Zusammenspiel und technischer Brillanz.

Abseits ihrer Arbeit mit Mário Laginha stand Maria Joao bereits mit zahlreichen portugiesischen und internationalen (Jazz)Grössen auf der Bühne wie z.B. António Pinho Vargas, Carlos Bica, Gilberto Gil, Joe Zawinul, Laureen Newton, Miroslav Vitous, Charlie Mariano, Aki Takase, Niels Henning, um nur einige zu nennen. Mit ihrem aktuellen Projekt OGRE hat sie in letzter Zeit begonnen, sich verstärkt der Verbindung zwischen Jazz, Pop und Elektronik zuzuwenden. 2017 wird das Trio ein neues Album mit Shakespeare Sonetten herausbringen. Und auf MAR AFORA, Marias allerneuestem Duoprojekt mit dem brasilianischen Gitarristen Guinga, widmet sie sich ihrer Liebe zur MPB, der Música Popular Brasileira.


Aktuelle Projekte

Guinga & Maria João (duo guitar & vocals)
Maria Joao OGRE (trio or quintet, vocals & electronics)
Maria Joao & Mario Laginha Iridescente (quartet)
Maria Joao & Mario Laginha (duo voice & piano)


Diskographie

2015 Mar Afora, Guinga & Maria João
2014 Plástico, Maria Joao OGRE
2012 Iridescente, Maria Joao & Mário Laginha
2012 Electrodoméstico, Maria Joao OGRE
2011 Amoras e Framboesas
2010 Follow the Songlines, Maria Joao & David Linx & Mário Laginha
2008 Maria Joao & Mário Laginha
2007 Joo
2004 Tralha, Maria Joao & Mário Laginha
2002 Undercovers
2001 Mumadj
2000 Chorinho Feliz, Maria Joao & Mário Laginha
1999 Lobos, Rabosas e Coiotes, Maria Joao & Mário Laginha
1998 Cor, Maria Joao & Mário Laginha
1996 Fábula
1994 Dancas, Maria Joao & Mário Laginha
1992 Sol
1992 Alice
1989 Looking for Love, Maria Joao & Aki Takase
1986 Conversa
1985 Cem Caminhos
1983 Quinteto Maria Joao


Presse

„Die portugiesische Sängerin setzt mit der Stimme fort, was die elektronischen Instrumente andeuten, macht wilde Sound-Eskapaden daraus, kokettiert mit Klangcharakteren von kieksenden Jungmädchenphrasen bis hin zu schamanenhaftem Bass oder nimmt alle Opulenz zurück, um in fragile gestalterische Feinheit zu münden…. So entsteht Musik mit großer Bildkraft und vielen überraschenden Sounddetails, die weit über Maria Joãos gewohnten Jazzkosmos hinausreicht.“
Süddeutsche Zeitung, DE, OGRE live im Bayrischen Hof, 2016

Zwischen digitaler und analoger Musikwelt bewegt sich Maria João mit spürbarer Entdeckerlust. Mal mit hingehauchter Kleinmädchenstimme, dann elektronisch verzerrt, hochemotional oder rotzig improvisierend.
Jazzthetik 
über Plástico, DE, 2015 


Die Grundhärte der Klänge ergibt einen tollen Kontrast zu ihrer Stimme […] für die João Fans bietet Plástico eine willkommene Abwechslung und eine völlig neue Seite der Sängerin und die Möglichkeit, sich viele neue Fans zu erobern – mutig und cool.
Concerto über Plástico, AT, 2015

„Die elektrifizierende Bühnenpräsenz von Maria Joao fesselte das Publikum von der ersten bis zur letzten Minute. Ihr gewaltiger Stimmumfang von ganz tief bis ganz hoch und ihre schier unbegrenzte Improvisationsfähigkeit machen sie einfach unverwechselbar. … Abwechselnd klang ihre Stimme wie die einer arabischen Sängerin, dann wieder wie ein alter Candomblé-Priester – eine schlichtweg atemberaubende Performance.“
Rollling Stone Brasil, 2012

„Der Umfang von Maria Joaos Stimme ist aussergewöhnlich, im Klang ebenso wie in der Dynamik, und der Überschwang ihrer Improvisation verspricht alle Grenzen niederzureissen – die des musikalischen Genres, der Identität und vielleicht auch die der Gesetze des physischen Universums.“
Tromsoby, N, 2012