NEW RELEASES BY OUR ARTISTS

2018 has been a highly productive year for our artists:

Italian melodeon maestro Riccardo Tesi and his Banditaliana celebrate their  25 years band anniversary with Argento. Albanian-Swiss vocalist Elina Duni releases her first solo album Partir and sings in nine (!) languages about the pain of separation and the courage to seek new beginnings. Amira Medunjanin, the cool Sevdah queen from Sarajavo, commemorates her 15 year stage anniversary with a special retrospective project: Ascending was recorded with the renowned Norvegian Trondheim Solistene in the even more renowned Abbey Road Studios in London. And Danças Ocultas will present dentro desse mar at the end of October, recorded in Rio de Janeiro and produced by Brazilian cellist and producer Jaques Morelenbaum. Congratulations!

Riccardo Tesi & Banditaliana, Argento, Visage Music / Galileo MC
Elina Duni, Partir, ECM
Amira Medunjanin & Tronheim Solistene, Ascending, Town Hill Colony / Croatia Records
Danças Ocultas, dentro desse mar, Sony / Galileo MC

AMIRA MEDUNJANIN ON TOUR IN GERMANY, AUSTRIA, SWITZERLAND

Bosnian Billie Holiday – Sevdah Meets Jazz

Amira Medunjanin, acclaimed singer, humanitarian and worldwide ambassador for the culture and music of her native Bosnia-Herzegovina and the wider Balkan region, presents her new album DAMAR. As in all her previous productions she draws deep from the wellspring of Sevdah, the “beating heart” of Bosnian music, with revivifying ancestral Bosnian songs, whilst for the first time introducing new compositions to her artistic palette. A particular emphasis on acoustic guitar brings a subtle Iberian piquancy to DAMAR, and once again the great Serbian pianist Bojan Z  bestows his musical and production skills upon the endeavour.  With a quintet that suggests everything from flamenco to contemporary jazz – a flourish of guitar here, a provocative piano solo there – Amira transforms tradition into a powerful emotional statement, one that suggests her homeland but is not limited to it.

“Bosnian Billie Holiday” (Gart Cartwright) was born in Sarajevo at the time when the popularity of traditional music in former Yugoslavia was at high tide, and Sevdah held a special place for her. The Sevdalinke (sevdah songs) she learned from her mother were the most beautiful of songs. Her fascination with the oral tradition of Bosnia and Herzegovina led her to devote herself to creating a unique voice within Sevdah to explore its expressive capacity to the full.

In 2017 Amira Medunjanin was selected into the Top Ten of World Music Divas by the British magazine Songlines.

UPCOMING LIVE DATES
28-04-17 München (DE), Gasteig • 29-04-17 Wien (AT), SIMM City • 05-05-17 Stuttgart (DE), Liederhalle • 06-05-17 Frankfurt (DE), Saalbau Volkshaus Sossenheim • 07-05-17 Düsseldorf (DE), Capitol Theater • 23-05-17 Baden (AT), Cinema Paradiso • 24-05-17 La Chaux de Fonds (CH), L’Heure Bleue • 26-05-17 Genève (CH), Le Temple de St. Gervais • 28-05-17 Ettiswil (CH), Stimmenfestival • 18-08-17 St. Gallen (CH), Schutzengelkapelle • 19-08-17 Rorschach (CH), Carmen Würth Saal • 24-08-17 Innsbruck (AT), Treibhaus • 26-08-17 Saaldfelden (AT), Internationales Jazzfestival • 17-09-17 Berlin (DE), Admiralspalast

RENATO BORGHETTI MEETS VINCENT PEIRANI IN COLOMBIA

A special “accordion summit” will happen on January 11, 2017 in Colombia: The fabulous Festival Internacional de Música in Cartagena de Indias has invited accordion gaúcho Renato Borghetti from Southern Brazil and jazz accordionist Vincent Peirani from Southern France to perform together with their ensembles and a youth orchestra from Cartagena. This open air world première will happen in front of the impressive backdrop of the Cartagena harbour and be transmitted live by Colombian Television.

RENATO BORGHETTI PRESENTS “GAITA NA FÁBRICA” ON TOUR IN EUROPE

GAITA NA FÁBRICA – Sounds from the Squeezebox Factory!

Renato Borghetti and his quartet present their new project „Accordion in the Factory“, produced entirely at the FÁBRICA DE GAITEIROS, the cultural space where Borghetti is developing his new social project. It is a magical, inspiring place, where children and young adults can develop their love for music and at the same time learn how to play the accordion. The new album is the result of this very special atmosphere, offering a mature and contemporary twist on the typical rhythms from the south of Brazil. Milongas, Vaneiras, Xote and Chamamés, executed in an unconventional and almost classical formation: piano (Vitor Peixoto), flute/sax (Pedro Figueiredo) and acoustic guitar (Daniel Sá, also in charge of musical direction).

Upcoming Release Tour in Europe:
18-10 Oldenburg (DE), Theater Laboratorium・19-10 Berlin (DE), UFA Fabrik・21-10 Halle (DE), Festival Akkordeon Akut!・22-10 Esslingen (DE), Kulturzentrum Dieselstrasse・23-10 Langenau (DE), Pfleghof・25-10 Wien (AT), Porgy&Bess・26-10 Bad Gastein (AT), Jazz im Sägewerk・27-10 Innsbruck (AT), Treibhaus・28-10 Treviglio BG (IT), Teatro Nuovo TBC・29-10 Thalwil (CH), Hotel Sedartis, Thalwil Jazz Club・30-10 Wolfach (DE), Klausenbauernhof ・01-11 Altamura (IT), Teatro Mercadante, Suoni della Murgia Winter・03-11 Cluj (RO), Hungarian National Theater・05-11 Torres Vedras (PT), Festival Accordeões do Mundo

Elina Duni (Albania/Switzerland)

La Fille de l’Air

Born into a highly artistic family in Tirana, Albania, in 1981, Elina Duni made her first steps on the stage as a singer aged five, singing for National Radio and Television. In 1992, after the fall of the communist regime, she settled in Geneva, Switzerland, with her mother, where she started studying classical piano and thereafter discovered jazz. She went on to study on the jazz programme at Hochschule der Künste in Bern. During this time, she formed the Elina Duni Quartet with Colin Vallon on piano, Patrice Moret on double bass and Norbert Pfammatter on drums. This project represented a return to her musical roots, a combination of Balkan folk songs and jazz.

After two albums, Baresha (2008) and Lume (2010), both on Meta Records, the quartet went on to release for ECM in 2012, Matane Malit (Beyond the Mountain) and in 2015, Dallëndyshe  (Swallow), which were praised by the wider European media for their lightness as well as their subtle manner of exploring Albanian folklore. In 2014, Elina Duni released her first album as a singer-songwriter in Kosovo and Albania, entitled Muza e Zezë (The Black Muse).

In 2017, Elina Duni was one of the winners of the Swiss Music Prize, and in 2018 her first solo project Partir was released on ECM: In nine (!) languages she presents old folk songs, chansons and ballads of farewell and separation, accompanying herself on guitar, piano and frame drum.

For her latest project, Elina is joined by guitarist and BBC New Generation Artist Rob Luft, one of the rising stars of London’s flourishing contemporary jazz scene. Luft’s playing incorporates echoes of West African high-life, Celtic folk and textural minimalism. His joyously original sound finds an ideal counterpart in Elina Duni’s vocals.

“I come from a family who has already fought against fascism, this is why I abhor any kind of nationalism. Societies who seal themselves off, are fearful societies. We all have to learn again how to fight for things that we have come to see as a given and take for granted.” (Elina Duni)


Current Projects

Elina Duni Solo “Partir”
Duo Elina Duni & Rob Luft


Discography

2018 Partir, ECM
2015 Dallëndyshe, ECM
2014 Muza e Zezë
2012 Matane Malit, ECM
2010 Lume, Lume, Meta Records
2008 Baresha, Meta Records


Awards

2017 Swiss Music Prize
2015 Diaspora Award, Embassy of Kosovo, Switzerland
2013 Kult Award for “Matanë Malit”, Tirana, Albania
2012 Jazz Pott Award, Essen, Germany
2010 Pro Helvetia “Priority Jazz ” for Elina Duni Quartet, Switzerland
2008 HKB Prize, Bern, Switzerland
2008 “Coup de Coeur 2008” Bern, Switzerland
2007 Friedl Wald Prize, Switzerland


Press

“… Each of her songs turns into a convincing recital, a profound homage to sincere humanity.”
Kulturkomplott, DE, 2018

“This album is all of a piece. Tuned in a pensive tone, although it is about departure. But this departure is not frivolous or euphoric, and Elina sings about it with earthy presence and mastered strenth.”
Neue Züricher Zeitung, CH, 2018

“Her voice is pure and clear and of ever more transparent intimacy. She does not cling but lets you go off to something at the same time melancolic but also full of hope and relief.”
Kulturtipp, CH, 2018

Lucilla Galeazzi (Italy)

The Pasionaria of Italian Folk

Currently the most active and worldwide well-known Italian folk singer, Lucilla Galeazzi’s career as a soloist or included in projects by other famous artists keeps her constantly on tour all over the world. After many years with Giovanna Marini’s Vocal Quartet and Christina Pluhar’s L’Arpeggiata, she keeps on singing and touring with her own musical projects, spreading worldwide the Italian oral tradition of popular music.

Lucilla Galeazzi was born in Terni, a small inustrial town in Umbria. Starting as a pop singer, soon she approached popular music after a fortunate encounter with Umbria anthropologist Valentino Paparelli and with oral historian Alessandro Portelli, both already engaged in ethnomusicological research in Umbria and central Italy. In 1977 she meets Giovanna Marini and joins her Vocal Quartet, knowing a consequent international success. In 1986 she meets Roberto de Simone and takes part in his great show “Stabat Mater” performed at the Opera Theater in Naples and on tour in New York and the USA. In 1987 she founds the musical trio Il Trillo, with Ambrogio Sparagna, barrel organ, and Carlo Rizzo, tambourines. With this trio she goes beyond the mere re-statement of musical oral tradition.

Lucilla has performed on the big opera stages in Naples, Berlin, Hamburg and New York and worked with many stars of the international folk scene such as Elena Ledda from Sardinia, Maria del Mar Bonnet from Mallorca, Portuguese Fado singer Teresa Salgueiro, Argentinian Mercedes Sosa and Rai singer Cheb Khaled from Algeria. Together with the French jazz musicians Michel Godard und Vincent Courtois she founded the critically acclaimed Trio Rouge, and for many years she toured around the world as a member of Christina Pluhar’s Baroque ensemble L’Arpeggiata.

She is one of the voices of Bella Ciao, the Italian all star project around organetto maestro Riccardo Tesi, which 50 yeras later restages the historical partisans’ and workers’ songs of the Italian Folk revival of the sixties and seventies. Recently Lucilla has also started to present her own productions: In 2014, she writes and promotes two major theatrical-musical shows dedicated to the First World War: Doppio Fronte. Oratorio per la Grande Guerra, with renowned Italian actor and performer Moni Ovadia, and Il fronte delle donne. In 2016 she writes and plays the show La nave a Vapore, devoted to the history of the great Italian migratory movements. Her latest adventure is Alegria e Libertà, an international co-production with the Galician-Belgian vocal quartet Ialma,  Didier Laloy on accordion and Carlo Rizzo on tamburello.


Current Projects

Solo Lucilla Galeazzi vocals & guitar
Duo Quanti Canti Lucilla Galeazzi & Stefania Placidi (vocals & guitars)
Trio Trad Lucilla Galeazzi vocals / Marcello Vitale guitar / Carmine Bruno percussion
Trio Rouge Lucilla Galeazzi vocals / Michel Godard tuba / Vincent Courtois cello
Festa Italiana Lucilla Galeazzi & Quintet
Alegria & Libertà Lucilla Galeazzi & vocal quartet Ialma (BE) – acc – perc


Discography

2018 Alegria e Libertà, Lucilla Galeazzi/Ialma/Didier Laloy/Carlo Rizzo/Maarten Decombel (Homerecords/Galileo MC)
2015 Bella Ciao, Lucilla Galeazzi/Riccardo Tesi/Elena Ledda etc (Visage Music/Galileo MC)
2013 Festa Italiana, Lucilla Galeazzi (Helikonia)
2010 Ancora Bella Ciao, Lucilla Galeazzi (Helikonia)
2010 Sopra i Tetti di Firenze, Lucilla Galeazzi/Riccardo Tesi/Maurizio Geri (Manifesto)
2006 Amore e Acciaio, Lucilla Galeazzi (Zonedimusica)
2005 Stagioni, Lucilla Galeazzi (Buda Musique)
2004 Trio Rouge, Lucilla galeazzi/Michel Godard/Vincent Courtois (Intuition)
2004 All’Improvviso, Lucilla Galeazzi & Christina Pluhar/L’Arpeggiata (Alpha Production)
2002 Renaissance, Philippe Eidel & Lucilla Galeazzi (Naive)
2002 La Tarantella, Lucilla Galeazzi (Alpha Production)
2001 Lunario, Lucilla Galeazzi (C.N.I.)
1997 La Via dei Romei, Ambrogio Sparagna & Lucilla Galeazzi
1997 Cuore di Terra, Lucilla Galeazzi (C.N.I.)
1993 Giovà il Servo del Ré, Ambrogio Sparagna & Lucilla Galeazzi (BMG)
1992 Il Trillo, Lucilla Galeazzi / Amrbogio Sparagna / Carlo Rizzo (Thelonius)
1984 Anninnia, Paolo Damiani & Lucilla Galeazzi (Nueva)



Press

„These ancient melodies, witness to the rich culture of Italy’s storied past, are made new again through Galeazzi’s exquisite voice and engaging style. Galeazzi’s arrangements of Italian songs and dance melodies celebrate the beauty and vitality of the Mediterranean’s multicultural heritage.“
Carnegie Hall Promotion, USA

„Lucilla’s voice has a wide field to offer: harmonious and quiet, sad and melancholic and also very powerful and intensive. The album is full of southern emotions. Great work!“
Folkworld, DE

„Lucilla Galeazzi has a voice of amazing clarity, versatility and beauty. This collection of songs allows that voice to shine. Lunario is full of conflicting feelings and expressions that are magically bridged by the simple power of the songs.“
Rootsworld, USA


 

GERHARD EDER 1951-2015

For many years he had been one of the key figures in Austrian and European Jazz – visionary founder and longtime director of Jazzfestival Saalfelden and for the past 10 years successful artistic director of Jazz&The City Festival in Salzburg. Far too early and totally unexpected Gerhard Eder left this world on September 4th, 2015. Rest in peace, my dear friend and musical soulmate.

JUAN CARLOS CACERES 1936-2015

The old lion has left us.
On the morning of past Easter Sunday April 5, the Argentinian-French pianist, singer, composer, painter and ethnomusicologist Juan Carlos Cáceres died in his home in Paris. „Tango Negro“ was the main topic of his music and research work. Born 1936 in Buenos Aires, Cáceres has dedicated his oeuvre to the black soul of Tango that tends to be forgotten and repressed in Argentina. Since 1968 he has been living in Paris, adding a touch of French elegance to the genre. His rhythmical piano style and throaty voice fascinated young and old audiences alike. Intolarant towards all orthodoxies, especially those of Tango, Caceres has created his own musical universe where Jazz and Tango mingle. Always dissident and rebellious, he was first a jazz ambassador in the land of Tango and then a Tango missionary in Europe.
Adios Maestro, R.I.P.

Gaia Cuatro (Japan/Argentina)

A puzzling encounter between Argentina and Japan on the frontier of Jazz

The fiery and intense character of Argentine music, mixed with the refinement of Japanese musical tradition provide the raw materials for this exceptional quartet, created from the meeting of two major symbols of Japanese jazz and two inventive Argentine musicians from the European scene.

The mind-blowing virtuosity of the violinist Aska Kaneko – a true star in her native Japan – is well served by Gerardo Di Giusto’s sophisticated and colorful compositions. Creating rhythms, in all their subtle distinctions, which respond to this ensemble in perfect harmony, weaving in the surprising conversation between bass player Carlos Buschini and percussionist Yahiro Tomohiro.

These four musicians are taking the art of improvisation to a whole new level, away from predictable formulas. As a matter of fact, they are shaping a new style of music. Nevertheless, its natural elegance makes it still sound surprinsingly familiar to us.


Line up

Gerardo di Giusto – piano
Aska Kaneko – violin
Carlos “el tero” Buschini – bass, double bass
Tomohiro Yahiro – drums


Discography

2015 Kaze feat. Paolo Fresu, Solis String Quartet (Abeat Records)
2010 Haruka feat. Paulo Fresu (Abeat Records)
2008 Udin (Abeat Records)
2007 Gaia Cuatro (Cristal Records)


Press

„Jazz improvisation between Japanese and Argentine musicians may sound a bit strange to some of us, but the visitors of Teatro Verme definitely learned the opposite. The concert of Gaia Cuatro was a positive surprise in building a wonderful bridge between two cultures that have nothing in common”.
IFG Online, Milan 2007

„The Argentine-Japanese ensemble with their totally new hybrid sound certainly was the most original contribution in this season of Charleville Action Jazz“.
L’Ardennais 2007

“This fascinating mix is based on the quality of the compositions but also on the musicians intense complicity and lust of playing which from the first moment captured the audience.”
L’Ardennais 2007

NEUE ALBEN UNSERER KÜNSTLERINNEN

2018 war ein ausserordentlich produktives jahr für die KünstlerInnen unserer Agentur:

Der italienische Akkordeonist Riccardo Tesi und seine Banditaliana feiern ihr 25-jähriges Bandjubiläum mit Argento. Die albanische Stimmkünstlerin Elina Duni veröffentlichte mit Partir ihr erstes Soloalbum, auf dem sie sich in neun (!) Sprachen dem Thema Abschied und Aufbruch widmet. Amira Medunjanin, die coole Sevdah Queen aus Sarajavo, schenkte sich und uns für ihr 15 jähriges Bühnenjubiläum Ascending, aufgenommen mit den renommierten norwegischen Trondheim Solistene in den noch renommierteren Abbey Road Studios in London. Und Danças Ocultas schliesslich präsentieren Ende Oktober dentro desse mar, aufgenommen in Rio de Janeiro und produziert vom brasilianischen Cellisten und Produzenten Jaques Morelenbaum. Wir gratulieren!

Riccardo Tesi & Banditaliana, Argento, Visage Music / Galileo MC
Elina Duni, Partir, ECM
Amira Medunjanin & Tronheim Solistene, Ascending, Town Hill Colony / Croatia Records
Danças Ocultas, dentro desse mar, Sony / Galileo MC

AMIRA MEDUNJANIN AUF TOUR IN DEUTSCHLAND, ÖSTERREICH, SCHWEIZ

Die bosnische Billie Holiday – Sevdah Meets Jazz

Die Sängerin, Menschenrechtsaktivistin und weltweite Botschafterin der bosnischen Musik und Kultur präsentiert ihr neues Album DAMAR. Wie immer bezieht Amira Medunjanin ihre Inspiration aus  der tiefen Quelle der Sevdah, des „Herzschlags“ der bosnischen Musik. Aber zum ersten Mal sind auch Neukompositionen dabei, und das kraftvolle, eigenwillige Pianospiel von Bojan Z und der an Flamenco erinnernde Stil des Gitarrenvirtuosen Boško Jović verwandeln Amiras Lieder in ein mächtiges emotionales Statement, das weit über ihre Heimat Bosnien hinausweist.

Die „bosnische Billie Holiday“ (Gay Cartwright) wurde in Sarajevo zu einer Zeit geboren, als die traditionelle Musik in Ex-Jugoslawien eine Hochblüte erlebte. Von ihrer Mutter lernte sie die schönsten Sevdalinke (Sevdah-Lieder), und bald war sie von der mündlich überlieferten Gesangstradition Bosnien-Herzegowinas so fasziniert, dass sie es sich zur Aufgabe machte, die Ausdruckskraft der Sevdah bis ins letzte zu erforschen und ihr eine unverwechselbare Stimme zu verleihen.

2017 wurde Amira Medunjanin vom britischen Magazin Songlines unter die Top Ten of World Music Divas gereiht.

KOMMENDE LIVETERMINE
28-04-17 München (DE), Gasteig • 29-04-17 Wien (AT), SIMM City • 05-05-17 Stuttgart (DE), Liederhalle • 06-05-17 Frankfurt (DE), Saalbau Volkshaus Sossenheim • 07-05-17 Düsseldorf (DE), Capitol Theater • 23-05-17 Baden (AT), Cinema Paradiso • 24-05-17 La Chaux de Fonds (CH), L’Heure Bleue • 26-05-17 Genève (CH), Le Temple de St. Gervais • 28-05-17 Ettiswil (CH), Stimmenfestival • 18-08-17 St. Gallen (CH), Schutzengelkapelle • 19-08-17 Rorschach (CH), Carmen Würth Saal • 24-08-17 Innsbruck (AT), Treibhaus • 26-08-17 Saaldfelden (AT), Internationales Jazzfestival • 17-09-17 Berlin (DE), Admiralspalast

RENATO BORGHETTI MEETS VINCENT PEIRANI IN COLOMBIA

Am 11. Jänner 2017 kommt es zu einem Akkordeon-Gipfeltreffen der besonderen Art: Beim wunderbaren Festival Internacional de Música in Cartagena de Indias in Kolumbien, das dieses Jahr im Zeichen Frankreichs steht, werden der südbrasilianische Akkordeongaúcho Renato Borghetti und der südfranzösische Jazzer Vincent Peirani mit ihren Ensembles und einem Jugendorchester aus Cartagena gemeinsam auf der Bühne stehen. Diese Weltpremiere findet vor der beeindruckenden Hafenkulisse Cartagenas statt und wird live vom kolumbianischen Fernsehen übertragen.

RENATO BORGHETTI PRESENTS „GAITA NA FÁBRICA“ ON TOUR IN EUROPE

GAITA NA FÁBRICA – Sounds from the Squeezebox Factory!

Renato Borghetti und sein Quartett präsentieren ihr neues Projekt „Akkordeon in der Fabrik“, das zur Gänze in der FABRICA DE GAITEROS produziert wurde. Diese „Fabrik der Akkordeonisten“ liegt ganz in der Nähe von Renatos Ranch bei Porto Alegre in Südbrasilien, und sie ist das neue Herzensprojekt des charismatischen Akkordeonstars. Es ist ein magischer, inspirierender Ort, an dem Kinder und Jugendliche ihre Liebe zur Musik entwickeln und gleichzeitig das Spiel auf der „Gaita Ponto“ erlernen können, dem für Südbrasilien typischen diatonischen Knopfakkordeon. Die neue CD des Quartetts ist das Ergebnis dieser besonderen Atmosphäre. Zu hören ist eine ausgereifte  und zeitgemässe Bearbeitung der typischen Rhythmen des brasilianischen Südens – Milongas, Vaneiras, Xote und Chamamés, dargeboten in einer ungewöhnlichen und fast klassischen Besetzung: Piano (Vitor Peixoto), Flöte/Sax (Pedro Figueiredo) und akustische Gitarre (Daniel Sá, der auch für die musikalische Leitung verantwortlich zeichnet).

Im Oktober und November kommt das RENATO BORGHETTI QUARTETO auf Releasetour nach Europa:
18-10 Oldenburg (DE), Theater Laboratorium・19-10 Berlin (DE), UFA Fabrik・21-10 Halle (DE), Festival Akkordeon Akut!・22-10 Esslingen (DE), Kulturzentrum Dieselstrasse・23-10 Langenau (DE), Pfleghof・25-10 Wien (AT), Porgy&Bess・・26-10 Bad Gastein (AT), Jazz im Sägewerk・27-10 Innsbruck (AT), Treibhaus・28-10 Treviglio BG (IT), Teatro Nuovo TBC・29-10 Thalwil (CH), Hotel Sedartis, Thalwil Jazz Club・30-10 Wolfach (DE), Klausenbauernhof ・01-11 Altamura (IT), Teatro Mercadante, Suoni della Murgia Winter・03-11 Cluj (RO), Ungarisches Nationaltheater・05-11 Torres Vedras (PT), Festival Accordeões do Mundo

Elina Duni (Albanien/Schweiz)

La Fille de l’Air

Geboren 1981 als Tochter einer Künstlerfamilie in der albanischen Hauptstadt Tirana, stand Elina Duni mit fünf Jahren erstmals auf einer Bühne. Sie lernte Geige, nahm an Kinderfestivals teil und sang in Radio und TV. Nach dem Ende des kommunistischen Regimes zog sie 1992 in die Schweiz und studierte in Genf klassisches Klavier, entdeckte dort aber auch den Jazz für sich. Nach Film-, Theater- und Jazzprojekten in Albanien und der Schweiz studierte sie in Bern Jazzgesang und Komposition, gründete ihr Elina Duni Quartett und begann sich mit Volksliedern ihrer Heimat und anderer Balkanländer auseinanderzusetzen. Heute singt sie diese in eigenen Arrangements, aber in den Originalsprachen und bringt ganz ungewohnte Farben in den Jazz.

Nach zwei Veröffentlichungen (Baresha 2008 und Lume, Lume 2010) auf dem deutschen Label Meta Records erscheinen 2012  Matanë Malit (Hinter dem Berg) und 2015 Dallendyshë (Die Schwalbe) bei ECM. Die albanischen Lieder werden hier voller Leichtigkeit und Subtilität gespielt und beide Alben von der europäischen Presse hoch gelobt. 2014 erscheint im Kosovo und in Albanien Elina Dunis erstes Soloalbum Muza e Zezë (die schwarze Muse), auf welchem sie sich als Singer-Songwriterin vorstellt.

2017 ist Elina Duni eine der Gewinnerinnen des Schweizer Musikpreises und startet drei neue Projekte: Ein Duo mit dem Londoner Gitarristen Rob Luft, Tribute to Billie Holiday mit dem Pianisten Jean-Paul Brodbeck und Aksham, ein Quintett mit dem Pianisten Marc Perrenoud und Trompeter David Enhco.

Im April 2018 ist Elinas neue Solo- Kreation Partir (Aufbrechen) bei ECM erschienen: In neun (!) Sprachen singt sie alte Volkslieder, Chansons und Singer-Songwriter Balladen zum Thema Abschied und Aufbruch, zu denen sie sich selbst an Gitarre, Klavier oder Perkussion begleitet.

„Ich bin das Kind einer Familie, die schon einmal gegen den Faschismus gekämpft hat. Deshalb ist mir jede Form von Nationalismus zuwider. Gesellschaften, die sich abschotten wollen, sind ängstliche Gesellschaften. Wir alle müssen wieder lernen zu kämpfen für Dinge, die uns selbstverständlich geworden sind und die wir als gegeben annehmen.“ (Elina Duni)


Aktuelle Projekte

Elina Duni Solo „Partir“
Duo Elina Duni & Rob Luft
Quintet „Aksham“


Diskographie

2018 Partir, ECM
2015 Dallëndyshe, ECM
2014 Muza e Zezë
2012 Matane Malit, ECM
2010 Lume, Lume, Meta Records
2008 Baresha, Meta Records


Erfolge

2017 Schweizer Musikpreis
2015 Diaspora Award, Botschaft des Kosovo, Schweiz
2013 Kult Award für „Matanë Malit“, Tirana, Albanien
2012 Jazz Pott Preis, Essen, Deutschland
2010 Pro Helvetia „Priority Jazz “ für Elina Duni Quartet, Schweiz
2008 HKB Preis, Bern, Schweiz
2008 „Coup de Coeur 2008“ Bern, Schweiz
2007 Friedl Wald Preis, Schweiz


Presse

„…eine berückende Intimität, die in ihrer Nachdenklichkeit gefangen nimmt. Bei ihr gilt es Grenzen zu überwinden, um die Schönheit der Poesie zu kämpfen, Authentizität und Respekt auszuleben. So wird jeder ihrer Songs zu einem überzeugenden Rezital, zu einer tiefgründigen Hommage aufrichtiger Menschlichkeit.“
Kulturkomplott, DE, 2018

„Dieses Album ist aus einem Guss. Auf einen  nachdenklichen Ton ist es gestimmt,obwohl es vom Aufbruch handelt. Aber es ist eben kein euphorischer oder gar leichtfertiger Aufbruch. Elina Duni besingt ihn miterdiger Präsenz und beherrschter Kraft.“
Neue Züricher Zeitung, CH, 2018

„Ihre Stimme ist rein und klar und von einer Innigkeit, die transparenter geworden ist. Sie hält nicht fest, sondern entlässt einen bei aller Melancholie in etwas Hoffnungsvolles und Befreiendes.“
Kulturtipp, CH, 2018


Lucilla Galeazzi (Italien)

Die Pasionaria des Italienischen Folk

Sie ist die zur Zeit aktivste, vielseitigste und bekannteste unter den großen italienischen Volkssängerinnen, und sie hat sich nie auf die Volksmusik beschränkt. Nach vielen Jahren mit Giovanna Marini und Christina Pluhars L’Arpeggiata tourt sie nun als Gastsolistin oder mit ihren eigenen musikalischen Projekten und trägt die Tradition der wunderbaren alten italienischen Lieder hinaus in die Welt.

Lucilla Galeazzi stammt aus der Industristadt Terni in Umbrien und begann ihre Karriere als Popsängerin. Nach der prägenden Begegnung mit den Ethnomusikologen Valentino Paparelli und Alessandro Portelli jedoch wandte sie sich der Volkmusik zu. Ihre Lehrjahre absolvierte sie im legendären Vokalquartett von Giovanna Marini, mit dem sie sich bald einen internationalen Namen machte, und bei Maestro Roberto de Simone und der Produktion „Stabat Mater“, mit der sie zum ersten Mal auf der Bühne der Oper in Neapel stand und auf USA Tournee ging. 1987 gründet sie ihr ersten eigenes Trio Il Trillo mit Ambrogio Sparagna und Carlo Rizzo und bemüht sich um eine zeitgemäße Version der mündlich überlieferten Lieder, und mit der Zeit erweitert sie ihr Repertoire auch Richtung Barock und Jazz.

Sie stand in den Opernhäusern von Neapel, Berlin, Hamburg bis New York auf der Bühne und arbeitete mit den Stars der internationalen Folkloreszene zusammen, mit Elena Ledda aus Sardinien, mit Maria Del Mar Bonet aus Mallorca, der portugiesischen Fado-Sängerin Teresa Salgueiro, der Argentinierin Mercedes Sosa oder dem algerischen Rai-Sänger Cheb Kaled. Mit den französischen Jazzmusikern Michel Godard und Vincent Courtois gründete sie das Trio Rouge, als Mitglied von Christina Pluhars Barockensemble L’Arpeggiata tourte sie viele Jahre um die Welt.

Lucilla ist Mitglied des erfolgreichen Projekts Bella Ciao, das die Arbeiterinnen- und Partisanenlieder des historischen italienischen Folk Revivals 50 Jahre später wieder auf die Bühne bringt, und in den letzten Jahren tritt Lucilla Galeazzi auch verstärkt mit eigenen Themenproduktionen an die Öffentlichkeit – wie zum Beispiel Il Fronte delle Donne anlässlich des hundertjährigen Gedenkens an den Ersten Weltkrieg, oder La Nave a Vapore  das sich der Geschichte der großen italienischen Auswanderungswellen widmet. Und vor kurzem erschien das Album Alegria e Libertà, eine internationale Koproduktion mit den galizischen Frauenstimmen des belgischen Ensembles Ialma, Didier Laloy am Akkordeon und  Carlo Rizzo am Tamburello.


Aktuelle Projekte

Solo Lucilla Galeazzi vocal & guitar
Duo Quanti Canti Lucilla Galeazzi & Stefania Placidi (vocals & guitars)
Trio Trad Lucilla Galeazzi vocals / Marcello Vitale guitar / Carmine Bruno perc
Trio Rouge Lucilla Galeazzi vocals / Michel Godard tuba / Vincent Courtois cello
Festa Italiana Lucilla Galeazzi & Quintet
Allegria & Libertà Lucilla Galeazzi & vocal quartet Ialma (BE) – acc – perc


Diskographie

2018 Alegria e Libertà, Lucilla Galeazzi/Ialma/Didier Laloy/Carlo Rizzo/Maarten Decombel (Homerecoerds/Galileo MC)
2015 Bella Ciao, Lucilla Galeazzi/Riccardo Tesi/Elena Ledda etc (Visage Music/Galileo MC)
2013 Festa Italiana, Lucilla Galeazzi (Helikonia)
2010 Ancora Bella Ciao, Lucilla Galeazzi (Helikonia)
2010 Sopra i Tetti di Firenze, Lucilla Galeazzi/Riccardo Tesi/Maurizio Geri (Manifesto)
2006 Amore e Acciaio, Lucilla Galeazzi (Zonedimusica)
2005 Stagioni, Lucilla Galeazzi (Buda Musique)
2004 Trio Rouge, Lucilla Galeazzi/Michel Godard/Vincent Courtois (Intuition)
2004 All’Improvviso, Lucilla Galeazzi & Christina Pluhar’s L’Arpeggiata (Alpha Production)
2002 Renaissance, Philippe Eidel & Lucilla Galeazzi (Naive)
2002 La Tarantella, Lucilla Galeazzi (Alpha Production)
2001 Lunario, Lucilla Galeazzi (C.N.I.)
1997 La Via dei Romei, Ambrogio Sparagna & Lucilla Galeazzi
1997 Cuore di Terra, Lucilla Galeazzi (C.N.I.)
1993 Giovà il Servo del Ré, Ambrogio Sparagna & Lucilla Galeazzi (BMG)
1992 Il Trillo, Lucilla Galeazzi / Ambrogio Sparagna / Carlo Rizzo (Thelonius)
1984 Anninnia, Paolo Damiani & Lucilla Galeazzi (Nueva)


Presse

“Lucilla Galeazzi singt nicht nur, sondern erzählt die Lieder ihrer Heimat und reisst das Publikum mit. Mit ihrer Stimme, die gerade das richtige Quentchen Rauhheit aufweist, zieht sie den bis auf den letzten Platz gefüllten Saal in ihren Bann.”
Bachtrack, UK

„Trio Rouge verbindet folkloristische Tradition mit dem Jazz, bekanntes Liedgut mit hinreißenden Improvisationen. Das hat Temperament und Sentiment, unterhält und erfreut Herz und Verstand, verbindet federleichte souveräne Virtuosität und authentisches Musikantentum aufs Beste.“
Oberösterreichische Nachrichten, AT

So exquisit und gleichzeitig bodenständig wie die Küche dieser Region, so wirkt auch die „Grande Dame des italienischen Volksliedes“, die aus Terni in Umbrien kommt: Lucilla Galeazzi. Auf der Bühne besticht sie mit ihrer Natürlichkeit und ihrer glasklaren Stimmfarbe, als ob sie das Singen gar nicht habe lernen müssen.”
SWR, DE

 

GERHARD EDER 1951-2015

Über Jahrzehnte war er eine der Schlüsselfiguren des österreichischen und europäischen Jazz – visionärer Gründer und langjähriger Leiter des Jazzfestivals Saalfelden und während der letzten zehn Jahre erfolgreicher künstlerischer Leiter des Jazz&The City Festivals in Salzburg. Am 04. September 2015 ist Gerhard Eder völlig unerwartet und viel zu früh aus dem Leben geschieden. Ruhe sanft, mein Freund und musikalischer Wegbegleiter.

JUAN CARLOS CACERES 1936-2015

Der alte Löwe ist nicht mehr.
Am Morgen des vergangenen Ostersonntag den 5. April ist der argentinisch-französische Pianist, Sänger, Komponist, Maler und Musikforscher Juan Carlos Cáceres in Paris verstorben. „Tango Negro“ war das Thema seiner Musik und seiner Forschungen. Der 1936 in Buenos Aires geborene Cáceres hat sein musikalisches Schaffen der afrikanischen Seele des Tango gewidmet, die in Argentinien so gerne vergessen und verdrängt wird. Seit 1968 lebte er in Paris und versah das Genre auch mit einer großen Portion französischer Eleganz. Mit seinem rhythmisch durchpulsten Klavierspiel und seiner heiseren Stimme zog er alle in den Bann. Musikalischer Rebell und Dissident, misstraute er zeitlebens allen Orthodoxien. Seine Klangsprache vereinte Jazz und Tango; so war er zu Beginn seiner Karriere der Botschafter des Jazz im Land des Tango und wurde später zum Missionar des Tango in Europa.
Adios Maestro, R.I.P.

Gaia Cuatro (Japan/Argentinien)

Eine unerwartete Begegnung zwischen Argentinien und Japan an der Grenze zum Jazz

Die Intensität und Heissblütigkeit argentinischer Musik gemeinsam mit der Raffinesse der musikalischen Tradition Japans bilden das Rohmaterial dieses aussergewöhnlichen Quartetts. Alles begann mit der Begegnung von zwei emblematischen Figuren der japanischen Jazzszene mit zwei innovativen argentinischen Jazzmusikern, die sich bereits in Europa einen Namen gemacht hatten.

Die atemberaubende Virtuosität der Violinistin Aska Kaneko – in ihrer Heimat seit langem ein Star – findet ihre ideale Basis in den feinsinnigen und doch feurigen Kompositionen Gerardo di Giustos, und durch das perfekte Gleichgewicht und die subtile Rhythmik des Dialogs zwischen dem Bassisten Carlos „el tero“ Buschini und dem Perkussionisten Yahiro Tomohiro fügt sich alles zu einem überraschenden Ganzen.

Vier Musiker die die Kunst der Improvisation zur höchsten Perfektion bringen, sich fröhlich über etablierte Konventionen hinwegsetzen und wie nebenbei eine vollkommen neuartige Musik schaffen, deren Natürlichkeit und Eleganz sie in unseren Ohren doch wieder seltsam vertraut klingen lässt.


Besetzung

Gerardo di Giusto – piano
Aska Kaneko – Violine
Carlos “el tero” Buschini – Bass, Kontrabass
Tomohiro Yahiro – Schlagzeug


Diskographie

2015 Kaze feat. Paolo Fresu, Solis String Quartet (Abeat Records)
2010 Haruka feat. Paulo Fresu (Abeat Records)
2008 Udin (Abeat Records)
2007 Gaia Cuatro (Cristal Records)


Presse

“Jazzimprovisation zwischen japanischen und argentinischen Musikern mag manchem etwas seltsam vorkommen, und doch wurden die BesucherInnen des Teatro Verme eines Besseren belehrt. Das Konzert von Gaia Cuatro bot die unerwartet positive Überrraschung eines erfolgreichen Brückenschlags zwischen zwei Kulturen, die so gut wie gar nichts miteinander zu tun haben“.
IFG Online, Mailand 2007

„Die argentinisch- japanische Formation mit ihrer vollkommen neuartigen musikalischen Fusion war sicher der originellste Beitrag zur aktuellen Saison von Charleville Action Jazz.“
L’Ardennais 2007

„Diese höchst gelungene Mischung beruht zu einem grossen Teil auf der Qualität der Kompositionen, aber auch der engen Verbundenheit der Musiker und ihrer enormen Spielfreude, die vom ersten Moment an mit dem Publikum zu teilen wissen.“
L’Ardennais 2007