Alegría e Libertà

Joy, Freedom and Strong Female Voices

Alegría e Libertà
Label: homerecords.be
Press Kit: Coming Soon
Origin: Galicia/Belgium/Italy
Booking: Sabina Schebrak
Territories: Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Live

New shows coming soon!

About

Alegría e Libertà is the encounter between the fiery Cantabrian sea, kissing the cliffs of the Praia das Catedrais, off the coast of Ribadeo and the languor of the Ionian Sea, coloring the Terra d’Otranto in vivid azure.

From muñeira to tarantella, this musical journey takes us on the paths of Santiago de Compostela, through Galicia, this region of northwestern Spain, neighbor of Portugal, of Celtic culture; and on the paths of Salento, in the extreme south-east of the Apulia region, described as ‘the heel of the Italian boot’.

This album is dedicated to the meeting of the voices of memory: that of the “pasionaria” of Italian folk song, Lucilla Galeazzi, and those of the ethereal Galician “cantareiras” of Ialma. A repertoire oscillating between tradition and modernity, sublimated by the virtuosity of the diatonic accordionist, Didier Laloy, the rhythmic energy of tamburello player Carlo Rizzo and the excellence of Maarten Decombel on guitar.

Alegría e Libertà are songs of women to each other, to strengthen themselves at work, while harvesting potatoes or spinning jute fiber; to encourage themselves while waiting for their men who went fishing at sea; to resist when their songs are repressed by dictatorship. Popular songs that bring us back to the culture, to the roots, to the identity that is passed on generation after generation.

Nevertehless Alegría e Libertà is also the joy of singing and dancing, from moving vocal fusion to mystical lyricism, in absolute freedom.


Line Up

Veronica Codesal – vocals, percussion
Eva Fernandez – vocals, percussion
Natalia Codesal – vocals, percussion
Marisol Palomo – vocals, percussion
Lucilla Galeazzi – vocals
Didier Laloy – diatonic accordion
Carlo Rizzo – tamburello
Maarten Decombel – guitar


Discography

2019 Alegría e Libertà (Homerecords.be / GalileoMC)


Press

“In a time when freedoms are being threatened, including artistic freedoms, in Europe and elsewhere, my sense is that this is a quiet cri-de-coeur from artists that are part of that international community that is forming in places like Belgium, where many paths cross in the heart of today’s political Europe…. a very joyous and passionate project.”
Rootsworld.com, USA

Alegría e Libertà

Freude, Freiheit und starke Frauenstimmen

Alegría e Libertà
Label: homerecords.be
Press Kit: Coming Soon
Origin: Galicien/Belgien/Italien
Booking: Sabina Schebrak
Territories: Österreich, Deutschland, Schweiz

Live

New shows coming soon!

About

Alegría e Libertà ist das Aufeinandertreffen der stürmischen kantabrischen See, die vor der Küste von Ribadeo die Klippen der Praia das Catedrais umtost, und des stillen, strahlend azurblauen Ionischen Meeres vor der Terra d’Otranto.

Von Muñeira bis Tarantella führt uns diese musikalische Reise zuerst nach Santiago de Compostela und Galicien im Nordwesten Spaniens, in direkter Nachbarschaft zu Portugal und zur keltischer Kultur, danach weiter in den Salento, in den äußersten Südosten der Region Apulien, die als „die Ferse des italienischen Stiefels“ bezeichnet wird.

Auf Alegría e Libertà treffen die Stimmen  der „Pasionaria“ des italienischen Volksliedes Lucilla Galeazzi und die der wunderbaren galicischen „cantareiras“ von Ialma aufeinander. Ein Repertoire zwischen Tradition und Moderne, veredelt von der Virtuosität Didier Laloys am diatonischen Akkordeon und Maarten Decombels an der Gitarre sowie von der rhythmischen Energie Carlo Rizzos am Tamburello.

Das Album widmet sich ganz den Stimmen der Erinnerung: Wir hören die Arbeitslieder der Frauen, die Kartoffeln oder Reis ernteten, Jutefasern spinnen mussten. Lieder, mit denen sie sich Mut machten, während ihre Männer auf hoher See fischten. Lieder die sich gegen Unterdrückung und Diktatur richten. Volkslieder, die sich auf die eigene Kultur rückbesinnen, zu den Wurzeln, der Identität, die von den Menschen Generation für Generation weitergegeben wird. Neben alldem ist Alegría e Libertà aber auch die Freude am Singen und Tanzen – von bewegender und verbindender Gemeinschaft bis hin zu mystischer Lyrik – in absoluter Freiheit.


Besetzung

Veronica Codesal – Gesang, Perkussion
Eva Fernandez – Gesang, Perkussion
Natalia Codesal – Gesang, Perkussion
Marisol Palomo – Gesang, Perkussion
Lucilla Galeazzi – Gesang
Didier Laloy – diatonisches Akkordeon
Carlo Rizzo – Tamburello
Maarten Decombel – Gitarre


Diskographie

2019 Alegría e Libertà (Homerecords.be/GalileoMC)


Presse

Die vier galizischen Sängerinnen des Ensembles Ialma und die Primadonna der Dorf-, Stadt- und Weltmusik Lucilla Galeazzi zeigen, was diese Musik heute bewirken kann als – im Wortsinn – „Lebensmittel“ und Aufruf, nichts als gegeben hinzunehmen.
ORF, Ö1 Spielräume (AT)