Didier Laloy & Quentin Dujardin

Two Masters of Subtlety

Didier Laloy & Quentin Dujardin, @ Jean Mahaux
Website: quentindujardin.be
Presskit: Coming Soon
Origin: Belgium
Booking Contact: Sabina Schebrak
Booking Territory: Europe except Belgium and France

Live

New shows coming soon!

About

Two distinguished and internationally renowned figures of the Belgian musical scene have joined forces for an exciting new project: Didier Laloy (accordion) and Quentin Dujardin (guitar) present their first common album Water & Fire.

The original compositions defy rigid genre definitions and range somewhere between jazz, classical, folk and film music. A dialogue between water and fire, born during a serious of work residencies in the Belgian studio of Agua Music, an intense musical moment where space and time come to a standstill and allow the adventure of a common hand.

Two at first sight rather contrary characters have started to search for a possibile understanding between hot and cold, taking the risk of connecting two different conceps of musical approach.  Romanesque encounters Baroque and results in a wonderfully melodic and vivid album. These two artists perfectly complement each other – expressivity blends with intensity and offers us fiery and at the same time glacial sound emotions.

Water & Fire represents a return to the discographic origins of the two leaders: „We believe in this eternal moment of creation. What immense joy to share our music! The most important remain our personal enrichment and the freedom each of us gains by taking risks, for which this project is a wonderful example.“


Tour Line Up

DUO Quentin Dujardin (guitar) & Didier Laloy (diatonic accordion)
TRIO Duo plus Adrien Tyberghein (double bass)
QUARTETT Trio plus Nicolas Fiszman  (bass)


Press

“A highly anticipated album celebrating the wedding of fire and water.”
Paris Match, FR

“These artists remain masters in the art of subtlety.” Jazz Enzo, NL
 
“An album full of crazy harmony.” Le Soir, BE

“The eleven poetic tracks of this album are as many seasonal and atmospheric walks. It is beautiful and meaningful.” Jazz Rhone Alpes, FR

Didier Laloy & Quentin Dujardin

Zwei Meister in der Kunst des Subtilen

Didier Laloy & Quentin Dujardin, @ Jean Mahaux
Website: quentindujardin.be
Presskit: Coming Soon
Origin: Belgien
Booking: Sabina Schebrak
Territories: Europa außer Belgien und Frankreich

Live

New shows coming soon!

About

Seit vielen Jahren sind der Gitarrist und der Akkordeonist mit ihren eigenen Formationen erfolgreich und haben sich auch international Gehör verschafft, und nun haben sie mit Water & Fire ein gemeinsames Album herausgebracht  das ihnen verdammt ähnlich sieht.

Die originellen Kompositionen entziehen sich starren Genregrenzen und bewegen sich irgendwo zwischen Jazz, Klassik, Volks- und Filmmusik. Beide haben lange auf diesen Moment des Aufeinandertreffens gewartet, auf einen Dialog zwischen Wasser und Feuer, der im Laufe mehrerer Arbeitsaufenthalte im belgischen Studio von Agua Music entstanden ist. Ein intensiver musikalischer Augenblick des Stillstehens von Raum und Zeit, der das Abenteuer einer gemeinsamen Handschrift ermöglicht.

Zwei auf den ersten Blick sehr gegensätzliche Temperamente haben sich auf die Suche nach einer möglichen Verständigung zwischen Heiss und Kalt gemacht, sind das Wagnis eingegangen zwei verschiedene Konzepte musikalischer Herangehensweise zu verbinden. Romanik trifft auf Barock und resultiert in einem wunderbar melodischen und höchst lebendigen Album. Die beiden ergänzen einander auf perfekte Weise – Expressivität verbindet sich mit Intensität und beschert uns ein gleichzeitig feuriges wie eisklirrendes Klangerlebnis.

Water & Fire stellt so etwas wie eine Rückkehr zu den diskographischen Ursprüngen der beiden dar: „Wir glauben an diesen ewigen Moment der Kreation. Welch immense Freude, unsere Musik miteinander teilen zu können! Das Wichtigste bleiben die persönliche Bereicherung und die Freiheit, die jedem von aus seiner Bereitschaft zum Wagnis erwächst. Dieses Projekt ist ein wunderbares Beispiel dafür.“


Tourbesetzung

DUO Quentin Dujardin (Gitarre) & Didier Laloy (diatonisches Akkordeon)
TRIO Duo plus Adrien Tyberghein (double bass)
QUARTETT Trio plus Nicolas Fiszman  (bass)


Presse

„Ein sehnsüchtig erwartetes Album das die Hochzeit zwischen Feuer und Wasser zelebriert.“ Paris Match, FR

„Diese Künstler sind Meister in der Kunst des Subtilen.“ Jazz Enzo, NL

„Ein Album voll verrückter Harmonie.“ Le Soir, BE