Maria Kalaniemi (Finland)

The queen of Finnish Accordion

Maria Kalaniemi, a master of free-bass button accordion, is one of Finland’s leading contemporary accordionists. Once a member of pioneering groups Niekku and Aldargaz, from the Sibelius Acdemy Folk Music Department, where she now teaches, her roots are in folk and classical music but her sights and abilities go far beyond existing styles. Technically brilliant as a player, and adept at improvisation, she is also a very powerful, intuitive and sensitive composer, with pieces that stylistically touch in numerous areas but feature her own personality as the driving force. Melody is the meaning and with Maria, listeners are sure to feel her message deeply.

Maria has released many albums, the latest one, Svalan, reached the top position of the European World Music Charts in 2017. In 2018 Maria Kalaniemi was awarded the Finnish State Prize for Music. She was a member of the international accordion collective Accordion Tribe, Swedish-Finnish music group Ramunder, UNTO Tango Orchestra as well as many other projects with whom she has toured throughout Europe, USA and Canada. Currently Kalaniemi performs in quartet with Johanna Iivanainen, Mikko Iivanainen and Timo Alakotila, in duo with Eero Grundström, Desiree Saarela and Marianne Maans.


Current Projects

Maria Kalaniemi (acc) & Timo Alakotila (piano)
Maria Kalaniemi (acc) & Eero Grundström (harmonium)
Vilda Rosor Trio or Quartet


Discography (selection)

2020 Mielo (Akerö/Galileo MC)
2017 Svalan (Akerö/Galileo MC)
2014 Kaustinen Live 2003 (Akerö CD014)
2011 Akerö (AkeröCD011)
2010 Vilda Rosor (Aito Records)
2006 Bellow Poetry (Aito Records AICD 006)
2004 Niskavuoren Nuori Emäntä (Gudaa 41)
2003 Viimenen Maa (LUR 8902-2)
2001 Ambra (Amigo Sweden KMHCD 18)
1999 Ahma (Roccadillo Records ZENCD 2059)
1995 Iho (Olarin Musikki OMCD 57)
1992 Maria Kalaniemi (Olarin Musikki OMCD 40)
1984 Kultaisen Harmonikan Voittaja (Finnish Accordion Institute FAILP 2)


Press

“If fellow Finn Kimmo Pohjonen is said to be the Hendrix of the instrument, then Maria can be credibly claimed to be its Erik Satie.
BBC, UK

„Maria Kalaniemi creates atmospheres and thus cinema for the mind. The starting point for her stories may be the moonshine or the subdued light in a country house, she maybe looking forward to spring or listening to the pattering rain – her listeners enjoy travelling with her and losing themselves in these natural phenomena.”
Jazzzeit, Vienna, AT

„Maria Kalaniemi’s understanding of music seems like meditation, like the questioning of hidden fantasies. But always without creating illusions.”
Jazzthing, DE

„This music is archaic, it seems to call us from far away and nonetheless will always be valid. It sounds melancholic but also dreamlike and light, does not need any technical means and shines from the inside.”
Stereo, DE

Maria Kalaniemi (Finnland)

Die Königin des finnischen Akkordeons

Maria Kalaniemi, eine Meisterin des free-bass Knopfakkordeons, ist eine der führenden zeitgenössischen Akkordeonistinnen Finnlands. Begonnen hatte sie als Mitglied der Vorreitergruppen Niekku und Aldargaz, die aus der Volksmusikabteilung der Sibelius Academy hervorgegangenen waren, wo Maria mittlerweile unterrichtet. Ihre Wurzeln liegen in Klassik und Folklore, aber ihr Weitblick und ihre Fähigkeiten gehen weit über existierende Stile hinaus. In der technisch brillianten Virtuosin steckt eine geübte Improvisatorin ebenso wie eine kraftvolle, intuitive und feinfühlige Komponistin, deren Stücke mit den verschiedensten Stilrichtungen spielen, aber immer Marias Persönlichkeit als treibende Kraft betonen. Die Bedeutung liegt in der Melodie – und bei Maria Kalaniemi erreicht die Botschaft das Publikum in tiefster Seele.

Maria hat zahlreiche Alben veröffentlicht, das letzte davon, Svalan, erreichte 2017 Platz 1 der European World Music Charts. 2018 wurde Maria Kalaniemi der Finnische Staatspreis für Musik verliehen. Sie war Mitglied des internationalen Akkordeonkollektivs Accordion Tribe, der schwedisch-finnischen Gruppe Ramunder, des UNTO Tango Orchesters und vieler anderer Projekte, mit denen sie erfolgreich in ganz Europa, den USA, Japan und Kanada tourte. Ihre aktuellen Projekte sind ein Quartett mit  Johanna Iivanainen, Mikko Iivanainen und Timo Alakotila, sowie die Duos mit Eero Grundström, Desiree Saarela und Marianne Maans.


Aktuelle Projekte

Maria Kalaniemi (acc) & Timo Alakotila (piano)
Maria Kalaniemi (acc) & Eero Grundström (harmonium)
Vilda Rosor Trio oder Quartet


Diskographie (Auszug)

2020 Mielo (Akerö/Galileo MC)
2017 Svalan (Akerö/Galileo MC)
2014 Kaustinen Live 2003 (Akerö CD014)
2011 Akerö (AkeröCD011)
2010 Vilda Rosor (Aito Records)
2006 Bellow Poetry (Aito Records AICD 006)
2004 Niskavuoren Nuori Emäntä (Gudaa 41)
2003 Viimenen Maa (LUR 8902-2)
2001 Ambra (Amigo Sweden KMHCD 18)
1999 Ahma (Roccadillo Records ZENCD 2059)
1995 Iho (Olarin Musikki OMCD 57)
1992 Maria Kalaniemi (Olarin Musikki OMCD 40)
1984 Kultaisen Harmonikan Voittaja (Finnish Accordion Institute FAILP 2)


Presse

„Wenn ihrem finnischen Landsmann, Kimmo Pohjonen nachgesagt wird er sei der Hendrix auf seinem Instrument, so müsste man Maria Kalaniemi bedenkenlos als Erik Satie bezeichnen.“
BBC, UK

„Maria Kalaniemi erzeugt Stimmungen und damit Kino für den Kopf. Ob sie das Scheinen des Mondes oder das gedämpfte Licht in einem Landhaus als Ausgangspunkt ihrer Geschichten nimmt, sich auf den Frühling freut oder dem Regen beim Prasseln zuhört, die Zuhörer gehen gerne mit ihr auf die Reise um diese natürlichen Phänomene zu beobachten und sich in ihnen zu verlieren.“
Jazzzeit, Wien, AT

„Maria Kalaniemis Musikverständnis wirkt wie eine Meditation, wie eine Abfrage verborgener Fantasien. Trotzdem baut sie keine Illusionen auf.“
Jazzthing, DE

„Es ist eine archaische Musik, die von weit her zu rufen scheint und doch immer Gültigkeit haben wird. Oft melancholisch und doch traumwandlerisch leicht klingt sie, die ohne technische Hilfsmittel auskommt und aus sich heraus leuchtet.“
Stereo, DE