Didier Laloy & Quentin Dujardin (Belgium)

Water & Fire

Two distinguished and internationally renowned figures of the Belgian musical scene have joined forces for an exciting new project: Didier Laloy (accordion) and Quentin Dujardin (guitar) present their first common album Water & Fire.

The original compositions defy rigid genre definitions and range somewhere between jazz, classical, folk and film music. A dialogue between water and fire, born during a serious of work residencies in the Belgian studio of Agua Music, an intense musical moment where space and time come to a standstill and allow the adventure of a common hand.

Two at first sight rather contrary characters have started to search for a possibile understanding between hot and cold, taking the risk of connecting two different conceps of musical approach.  Romanesque encounters Baroque and results in a wonderfully melodic and vivid album. These two artists perfectly complement each other – expressivity blends with intensity and offers us fiery and at the same time glacial sound emotions.

Water & Fire represents a return to the discographic origins of the two leaders: „We believe in this eternal moment of creation. What immense joy to share our music! The most important remain our personal enrichment and the freedom each of us gains by taking risks, for which this project is a wonderful example.“


Tour Line Up

DUO Quentin Dujardin (guitar) & Didier Laloy (diatonic accordion)
TRIO Duo plus Adrien Tyberghein (double bass)
QUARTETT Trio plus Nicolas Fiszman  (bass)


Press

“A highly anticipated album celebrating the wedding of fire and water.”
Paris Match, FR

“These artists remain masters in the art of subtlety.” Jazz Enzo, NL
 
“An album full of crazy harmony.” Le Soir, BE

“The eleven poetic tracks of this album are as many seasonal and atmospheric walks. It is beautiful and meaningful.” Jazz Rhone Alpes, FR


BELEM & the MeKanics

Didier Laloy presents his new spectacular project

For  many centuries mankind has been dreaming and building machines, also Leonardo da Vinci wanted to fly. Together with Belgian avantgarde composer and sound inventor Walter Hus, Didier Laloy in his latest adventure takes mechanical music to its extremes.  BELEM, the success duo with Didier Laloy on accordion and  Kathy Adam on cello, meets a mechanical orchestra of the Belgian brand DECAP, programmed and digitally operated by Walter Hus and remindung us of the historical ancestors of the jukebox that were extremely popular (not only) in Belgium and Northern France.  The organs, the “Mekanics”, sing like little birds, then again they sound like a whole orchestra, a drumset and an accordion play alone as if by magic. The result is breathtaking – a unique sound between popular, contemporary and film music with fellinian flavour. Belem&The Mekanics is an extraordinary experience that will take you far beyond a concert, submerging the audience in the centre of a majestic sound  swirl. The album Belem & The Mekanics was released in November 2017  and presented in two sold out and enthusiastically acclaimed concert series in Brussels and Paris.

Didier Laloy – diatonic accordion
Kathy Adam – cello
Walter Hus – The Mekanics programming
Didier Laloy & Walter Hus – composition, arrangements

 

BRANKO GALOIĆ & FRANCISCO CÓRDOVIL ON TOUR IN GERMANY AND AUSTRIA

Poetic Yugo Rock with Parisian  Charme

As many other important encounters this was a spontaneous one: Croatian guitarist and song poet Branko Galoić and Portuguese guitar virtuoso Francisco Córdovil met at Chez Adel, a typical artist bar in Paris. During a commom jam session they gelled immediately – feeling an almost magical southern connection between two musicians that for many years had been living far from their home countries. Branko’s Balkan roots und Francisco’s Iberian influence blended into an explosive mix enchanting their Paris audience.

Last summer Branko Galoić and his SKAKAVAC ORKESTAR toured successfully at festivals in Germany, Austria, Italy and Hungary. Starting in Kehl tomorrow March 31, the duo will make their debut in Germany and Austria to promote their first album ONE WITH THE WIND (CD Baby).

UPCOMING LIVE DATES

DUO BRANKO GALOIĆ & FRANCISCO CORDOVIL
31-03-17 Kehl (DE), Stadthalle SOLD OUT
01-04-17 Wolfach (DE), Klausenbauernhof
02-04-17 Passau (DE), Café Museum
03-04-17 Salzburg (AT), Gastlokal Fridrich
04-04-17 Freistadt (AT), Local-Bühne
05-04-17 Wien (AT), Sargfabrik

BRANKO GALOIĆ & SKAKAVAC ORKESTAR
06-07-17 Rudolstadt (DE), TFF Rudolstadt

Suonno d’Ajere (Italy)

Canzone Classica Napoletana

Three passionate musicians, born and bred in the city of Naples, have come together to prove once and for all that the tradition of Neapolitan song writing is still as moving and relevant as it has ever been.

Suonno d’Ajere means “The Dream of Yesterday” and refers to a famous song title by Neapolitan cantautore Pino Daniele. The trio was born in 2016 from the need to know and enhance what Naples has produced in its vocal musical history. Despite their different musical backgrounds, from jazz to light music, from popular to classical, the members of the group have always been confronted with Neapolitan song, remaining deeply fascinated. They intend to restore dignity and depth to this tradition by exploring all the repertoire from 1600 to the present day, proposing arrangements that combine stylistic rigour with a contemporary approach. The choice of instruments recalls the popular Posteggia formations from the early nineteenth century, street and bar musicians loved by common people as well as by aristocrats, but the execution is of a far more refined and sophisticated approach, often far from the street versions. The result is a flamboyant mix between popular and classical that has always been the cornerstone of Neapolitan music.

Suonno d’Ajere are the recipients of numerous awards (including the First Prize at SanremoCantaNapoli Festival as well as a performance at Biennale di Venezia for the soundtrack of La Chimera documentary) and much critical acclaim for their performances of existing songs as well as their own original compositions. In 2019 they released their debut album Suspiro.

“Neapolitan song is not a relic for museums, nor a mummy without oxygen. Its scores are no holy pells but a legacy to be celebrated.” Suonno d’Ajere


Line Up

Irene Lupe Scarpato – vocals
Marcello Smigliante Gentile – mandolin, mandola, mandoloncello
Gian Marco Libeccio – classical guitar


Press

“breathtaking musicality …. one of the best albums of the year.”
Mirjam Jessa, ORF Ö1, AT

“Suonno d’Ajere clearly believe in the songs and the mother tongue of the Gulf of Naples.“
Napoli Today, IT
„This group gives me hope for our forgotten classical repertoire.“
Salvatore Palomba, poet and writer, IT

„Suspiro is neither vintage nor anachronistic, but the intelligent balance between philology and the temptations of our time.“
Il Mattino, IT

„Suonno d’Ajere reassure!“
Radio Napoli

Zamballarana (Corsica/France)

Orchestravagante Corsica

Zamballarana come from Pigna, a little Corsican village and cultural hub in the Northwest of the wild and mysterious “Island of Beauty”:  In 1996 musician and stage designer Jérome Casalonga founded the group in the “Casa Musicale”, a legendary cradle of creation and artistic exchange.  In Corsican La Zamballarana is a slightly frivolous and unconventional woman – it is in this sense that the band makes the words and sounds of Corsican music dance. The sea is the origin of their Latin roots but also their way of inspiration in their encounters with the different cultures of the world.  Like jugglers these singers and musicians explore their own original mixtures, invent and weave new sound colours and juggle with styles, thus widening the field of our imagination.

The blend of archaic male polyphony with elements of jazz, oriental and latin music as well as the innovative way of playing traditional Corsican instruments such as the 16-string Cetrea, the drum Colombu and the flute Pivana result in a hot and danceable mix of styles which raises the unique Corsican musical tradition to global standards.


Line Up

Jérôme Casalonga – composition, vocals, sax, clarinet
Laurent Barbolosi – violin, trumpet, vocals
Jérémy Lohier – accordion, vocals
Marco Tindiglia – guitar
Ricardo Barbera – bass
Francesco Petreni – drums


Discography

2012 Carnavale (Casa Editions)
2007 Camina (Casa Editions)
2004 Luna (Casa Editions)
1999 Lucia (Casa Editions)
1997 Zamballarana (Casa Editions)


Press

“The great thing about the music of Zamballarana is that it is really authentic, delving into their region’s folk roots, and using it as a point of departure.”
Ruben Zahra, musical director Ghanafest, Malta

“That’s a really good group from Corsica …. a really beautiful group.”
Elvis Costello, British musician

„Fresh and strong emotions!“
Le Monde de la Musique, FR

“This music is profane without pathos, fresh and full of enthusiasm. Bravo!“
Trad Magazine, FR

Didier Laloy (Belgium)

The mad dog meets the nobility:
BELEM Didier Laloy & Kathy Adam

Didier Laloy and Kathy Adam form an atypical duo featuring diatonic accordion and cello. They are both brilliant musicians in their own right. They have travelled through Europe with the group ‘Panta Rhei’, and shared the stage on many other occasions including Didier’s own projects “Didier Laloy Invites”, [Pô-Z]s, Noir’s and Nonsens. Although we had to wait for 23 years before a direct collaboration emerged, it was well worth the wait.

For decades, they’ve been thinking about experimenting with chamber music, without neglecting the expressive side. Today they provide an anthology of compositions, at the crossroads of their experiences. A strong but simple music, subtle and surprising, where silence, dynamics and the most elegant and crazy rhythms intersect. Musical images collide, and lead you on a musical journey and unique experience. Gentle and daring duo, result of a long-awaited meeting between two wonderful artists.

Laloy is considered as one of the most active representatives of the diatonic accordion revival in Europe. His easy and humorous onstage manner, his ability to tackle almost any musical genre from world to chanson, from contemporary music to projects for children, the subtlety of his playing and his never ending energy and enthusiasm have made him a highly sought after and appreciated musician in the contemporary Belgian musical scene. He was also a member of the transeuropean accordion collective The Samurai.

Kathy Adam studied cello and chamber music in Brussels and has been performing for over 20 years. In addtion to her life as a classical musician she regularly works with world music artists and theater and dance productions.


Didier Laloy’s Current Projects

Duo Didier Laloy (acc) & Quentin Dujardin (guit)
Belem & The MeKanics (Didier Laloy & Kathy Adam and a mechanical orchestra)
Belem (Didier Laloy & Kathy Adam)
Belem & Ensemble Quartz (Didier Laloy & Kathy Adam & wind quartet)
Belem & Slang (Didier Laloy & Kathy Adam & jazz trio)
Belem & Barbara Fortuna (Didier Laloy & Kathy Adam & Corsican voices)
Noir’s (Quartett acc – cello – guit – perc, concert in the dark)
Duo Didier Laloy (acc) & Tuur Florizoone (acc)
Didier Laloy’s Cameleon Tribe (flexible format from trio to quartet)


Discography

2019 Water and Fire / Didier Laloy & Quentin Dujardin (Agua Music)
2017 Belem & The MeKanics (Igloo Records)
2014 Belem Didier Laloy & Kathy Adam (Homerecords.be)
2012 Didier Laloy & Tuur Florizoone (Aventura Musica)
2011 Noir’s (Wild Boar Music)
2009 Milann&Laloy “ La Marquise”
2008 Didier Laloy PôZ’s
2005 CD/DVD Didier Laloy “Invite…s”
2003 Didier Laloy “S-Tres/Version Originale”


Press

“Fanstastic world chamber music from Belgium. ORF Ö1, A, 2015

 “On the duo album you can only hear the two musicians. But at no moment the purely instrumental music sounds thin or sketchy. On the contrary, the sound is powerful like a small folk orchestra. Special compliment to producer Michel van Achter.”
Folker, D, 2015

What did we hear? Jazz, folk, contemporary music, world music? Or just simply good music in the best sense of the word?”
Mitteldeutsche Zeitung, D, 2011

“His musical expression resembles a rough diamond… Loneliness, the dark and profound abyss, but also desire and charm are recurring elements in all his projects. And during his concerts he seems in league with love just as well as with the devil…”
Concerto, A, 2011

“The wild body language of a rock musician with the grace of a primaballerina in slowmotion.”
De Volkskrant, NL, 2009

Branko Galoić (Croatia/France)

Troubadour from the Balkans to the World

Singer songwriter, composer and guitar player, Branko Galoic was born in Ivanić-Grad near Zagreb in former Yugoslavia in 1973. Right from the beginning he combined rock with traditional Balkan influences.

In the year 2000 he moved to Amsterdam. A few years later, he recorded his first album, Above the Roofs, with renowned producer Dragi Sestic (Mostar Sevdah Reunion, Amira Medunjanin etc.). The album was released internationally and received great reviews in the European press. During that time he collaborated with some of the best musicians from the Balkans such as Mostar Sevdah Reunion, Vlatko Stefanovski or Merima Kljuco. Branko released two more albums in Amsterdam, Skakavac and Ej ti tu! and then moved to Berlin where he recorded one more album Super cug with Marko Jovanovic, a mouth harmonica virtuoso from Berlin.

Branko’s music is based in the tradition of Ex-Yugoslavia and mixed with different styles such as Ska, Pop and Chanson. Over the years he has played with musicians from Greece, Turkey, Iran, Irak, Latin America, Holland, Germany, France, Ex Yugoslavia and so developped his own, unique style which has already been compared to the likes of Jaques Brel, Alain Stivell or Melingo.

Since 2014 Branko has been living in Paris where his release Angel Song (Silvox Records 2015) was celebrated by FIP radio as one of the discoveries of the season. In January 2016 “Angel Song” also entered the European World Music Charts on number 15 and was longlisted for the Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik.

The duo album  One With The Wind with Paris based Portuguese guitar virtuoso Francisco Cordovil was released in 2018, and in 2020 Branko finished the recordings for his new major project Ples Slobode / Danse de la Liberté which will be published in March 2021.


Available Projects

Duo Branko Galoić & Francisco Cordovil (2 guitars & vocals)
Branko Galoić Quartett (guit – voc – perc – cello)
Branko Galoic Skakavac Orkestar (5-7 brass bigband)


Discography

2021 Ples Slobode / Danse de la Liberté (SuperPitch)
2018 One With The Wind (Galileo Music)
2015 Angel Song (Silvox Music)
2014 Super Cug (CD Baby, digital release)
2011 82 Ej ti ju! (Silvox Music)
2010 Skakavac (self-released/Xango Music, CD Baby digital distribution)
2005 Above The Roofs (Snail Records)


Press

“A pleasantly breezy album”
Songlines, UK, 2019

“There’s lightning-fast virtuoso guitar work that at times blurs the boundaries between flamenco and rock… An impressive melange of styles that works really well.”
http://www.blissaquamarine.net/, 2019

“Croatia and Portugal as an explosive mix (…) a bombastic experience.”
Mittelbadische Presse, DE, 2017

„… from Gipsy Balkan Brass to Turbo-Reggae and a kind of South Italian film music, reminding of a merry-go-round in a Fellini classic”
Radio Bremen CD Tipp Angel Song, DE, 2016

“The music is very lively, but also melancolic and romantic…with a touch of Ex-Jugoslavian feeling… I recommend “Angels Songs” at any time!”
Sound&Image on Angel Song, DE, 2016

“The beautifull Ej ti tu album!”
Mattie Poels, Radio 6, NL, 2013

“New strong hope for balkan music”
Zlatko Gall, Free Dalmatia, CRO, 2013

“You can wake me up with songs like Fraukje tango any time”
Ton Mass Volskrant, Amsterdam, NL, 2011

Didier Laloy & Quentin Dujardin (Belgien)

Water & Fire

Seit vielen Jahren sind der Gitarrist und der Akkordeonist mit ihren eigenen Formationen erfolgreich und haben sich auch international Gehör verschafft, und nun haben sie mit Water & Fire ein gemeinsames Album herausgebracht  das ihnen verdammt ähnlich sieht.

Die originellen Kompositionen entziehen sich starren Genregrenzen und bewegen sich irgendwo zwischen Jazz, Klassik, Volks- und Filmmusik. Beide haben lange auf diesen Moment des Aufeinandertreffens gewartet, auf einen Dialog zwischen Wasser und Feuer, der im Laufe mehrerer Arbeitsaufenthalte im belgischen Studio von Agua Music entstanden ist. Ein intensiver musikalischer Augenblick des Stillstehens von Raum und Zeit, der das Abenteuer einer gemeinsamen Handschrift ermöglicht.

Zwei auf den ersten Blick sehr gegensätzliche Temperamente haben sich auf die Suche nach einer möglichen Verständigung zwischen Heiss und Kalt gemacht, sind das Wagnis eingegangen zwei verschiedene Konzepte musikalischer Herangehensweise zu verbinden. Romanik trifft auf Barock und resultiert in einem wunderbar melodischen und höchst lebendigen Album. Die beiden ergänzen einander auf perfekte Weise – Expressivität verbindet sich mit Intensität und beschert uns ein gleichzeitig feuriges wie eisklirrendes Klangerlebnis.

Water & Fire stellt so etwas wie eine Rückkehr zu den diskographischen Ursprüngen der beiden dar: „Wir glauben an diesen ewigen Moment der Kreation. Welch immense Freude, unsere Musik miteinander teilen zu können! Das Wichtigste bleiben die persönliche Bereicherung und die Freiheit, die jedem von aus seiner Bereitschaft zum Wagnis erwächst. Dieses Projekt ist ein wunderbares Beispiel dafür.“


Tourbesetzung

DUO Quentin Dujardin (Gitarre) & Didier Laloy (diatonisches Akkordeon)
TRIO Duo plus Adrien Tyberghein (double bass)
QUARTETT Trio plus Nicolas Fiszman  (bass)


Presse

„Ein sehnsüchtig erwartetes Album das die Hochzeit zwischen Feuer und Wasser zelebriert.“ Paris Match, FR

„Diese Künstler sind Meister in der Kunst des Subtilen.“ Jazz Enzo, NL

„Ein Album voll verrückter Harmonie.“ Le Soir, BE

BELEM & The MeKanics

Didier Laloy präsentiert seine neue spektakuläre Produktion

Seit Jahrhunderten träumt und baut der Mensch Maschinen, auch Leonardo da Vinci wollte fliegen. Zusammen mit dem belgischen Avantgardekomponisten und Soundtüftler Walter Hus treibt Didier Laloy in seinem letzten Streich die mechanische Musik auf ihren Höhepunkt: Das Erfolgsduo BELEM (Didier Laloy am Akkordeon und Kathy Adam am Cello) trifft auf ein von Walter Hus programmiertes und digital gesteuertes mechanisches Orchester der belgischen Marke DECAP, das an die nicht nur in Belgien und Nordfrankreich sehr beliebten historischen Vorläufer der Jukebox erinnert. Die Orgelpfeifen, die „Mekanics“, singen wie kleine Vögel, dann klingen sie wieder wie ein ganzes Orchester, ein Schlagzeug und Akkordeon spielen wie von Zauberhand, und das Ergebnis ist nicht nur optisch atemberaubend – ein einzigartiger Sound zwischen populär, zeitgenössisch und an Fellini erinnernder Filmmusik. Belem&The Mekaniks ist eine Erfahrung die weit über das reine Konzerterlebnis hinausgeht und das Publikum in das Zentrum eines majestätischen Klangwirbels entführt. Die gleichnamige CD erschien Ende 2017 und wurde in zwei ausverkauften und bejubelten Aufführungsserien in Brüssel und Paris präsentiert.

Didier Laloy – diatonisches Akkordeon
Kathy Adam – Cello
Walter Hus – The Mekanics Programmierung
Didier Laloy & Walter Hus – Komposition, Arrangements

BRANKO GALOIĆ & FRANCISCO CÓRDOVIL AUF TOUR IN DEUTSCHLAND & ÖSTERREICH

Yugorock mit Poesie und Tiefgang und Pariser Charme

Wie so viele wichtige Begegnungen geschah auch diese ganz spontan: Der kroatische Songpoet und Gitarrist Branko Galoić und der portugiesische  Gitarrenvirtuose Francisco Córdovil trafen einander im Chez Adel, einem typischen Pariser Künstlertreff. Bei einer gemeinsamen Jamsession funkte es sofort – auf fast magische Weise funktionierte eine Art Südverbindung zwischen zwei Musikern, die seit vielen Jahren fern ihrer Herkunftsländer leben. Brankos Balkan Roots und Franciscos portugiesischer und Flamencoeinfluss verschmolzen zu einer explosiven Mischung, und das Pariser Publikum war verzaubert.

Letzten Sommer hat Branko mit seinem SKAKAVAC ORKESTAR Publikum wie Veranstalter bei Sommerfestivals in Deutschland, Österreich, Italien und Ungarn entzückt. Vor kurzem ist in Frankreich sein neues  Duoalbum ONE WITH THE WIND mit Francisco Córdovil erschienen, mit dem die beiden ab morgen 31. März zum ersten Mal im deutschsprachigen Raum auf Tour sind.

KOMMENDE LIVETERMINE

DUO BRANKO GALOIĆ & FRANCISCO CORDOVIL
31-03-17 Kehl (DE), Stadthalle SOLD OUT
01-04-17 Wolfach (DE), Klausenbauernhof
02-04-17 Passau (DE), Café Museum
03-04-17 Salzburg (AT), Gastlokal Fridrich
04-04-17 Freistadt (AT), Local-Bühne
05-04-17 Wien (AT), Sargfabrik

Zum Vormerken:
BRANKO GALOIĆ & SKAKAVAĆ ORKESTAR
06-07-17 Rudolstadt (DE), TFF Rudolstadt

Suonno d’Ajere (Italien)

Canzone Classica Napoletana

Der Name des erst 2016 gegründeten Trios aus Neapel bedeutet in etwa „Der Traum vom Gestern“ und bezieht sich auf das gleichnamige Lied auf Pino Danieles Debütalbum Terra Mia (1977). Die drei jungen MusikerInnen haben sich sich ganz der Erforschung und zeitgemässen Neubearbeitung des neapolitanischen Liedguts von 1600 bis heute verschrieben. Die Besetzung erinnert an die besonders im 19. Jahrhundert beliebte neapolitanische Tradition der Posteggia, Strassen- und Wirtshausmusikanten deren Darbietungen dem Volk genauso gefielen wie den Herrschenden. Der musikalische Zugang des Trios aber ist deutlich geschliffener.  Suonno d’Ajere wollen die alten Lieder von Kommerz und Kitsch befreien und ihnen ihre Würde und Kraft zurückgeben, und das durchaus mit Erfolg: In Italien hat ihnen die stilistisch rigorose und raffinierte und für Neapel immer schon typische Verbindung von  Volks- und Kunstmusik bereits einen Auftritt bei der Biennale von Venedig für die Filmmusik zum Dokumentarfilm La Chimera sowie den ersten Preis beim Festival SanremoCantaNapoli eingebracht. Das erste Album Suspiro ist 2019 erschienen.

Das neapolitanische Lied ist kein Museumsrelikt, keine Mumie ohne Sauerstoff. Seine Partituren sind keine zu heiligenden Pergamentrollen, sondern ein Vermächtnis das gefeiert werden will.“ Suonno d’Ajere


Besetzung

Irene Lupe Scarpato – Gesang
Marcello Smigliante Gentile – Mandoline, Mandola, Mandoloncello
Gian Marco Libeccio – klassiche Gitarre


Diskographie

2019 Suspiro


Presse

„Atemberaubend ist die hohe Musikalität dieses Trios, die Arrangements, die sich wie angegossen an die dunkel-seidige Stimme Irene Scarpatos anschmiegen, einer wahrlich großen Interpretin dieses so traditionsreichen Repertoires, das in seiner Tiefe wohl nur in Neapel verstanden wird. Aber was wir davon mitbekommen reicht, um zu wissen, dass „Suspiro“ eines der überzeugendsten Alben dieses Jahres ist, wäre es nicht schon 2019 erschienen.“
Mirjam Jessa, ORF Ö1, AT

„Suonno d’Ajere glauben ohne Verlegenheit an die Lieder und die  Muttersprache des Golfes von Neapel.“
Napoli Today, IT
 
„Diese Gruppe macht mir Hoffnung für unser klassisches Repertoire, das nur zu oft in Vergessenheit geraten ist.“
Salvatore Palomba, Lyriker und Texter, IT
 
„Suspiro“ ist keine anachronistische Retroangelegenheit, sondern das intelligente Gleichgewicht aus Philologie und den Versuchungen unserer Zeit.“
Il Mattino, IT

„Suonno d’Ajere machen Mut“
Radio Napoli, IT

Zamballarana (Korsika/Frankreich)

Orchestravagante Corsica

Zamballarana stammen aus dem korsischen Dörfchen Pigna, einem der kulturellen Brennpunkte im Nordwesten der wilden und geheimnisvollen „Ile de Beauté“: Die Gruppe wurde 1996 vom Musiker und Bühnenbildner Jerome Casalonga in der „Casa Musicale“ gegründet, einer legendären Kreativwerkstatt und Wiege künstlerischen Austausches. Die Zamballarana ist auf Korsisch eine etwas frivole, unkonventionelle Frau – und ganz in diesem Sinne bringt die Band die Wörter und Klänge der korsischen Musik zum Tanzen. Das Meer ist die Wiege ihrer romanischen Wurzeln aber auch der Weg der Inspiration, auf dem sich Zamballarana allen Kulturen der Welt annähern. Wie Gaukler erforschen die Musiker und Sänger eigenwillige Mixturen, erfinden und weben neue Klangfarben, jonglieren mit den Stilen und erweitern das Feld unseres Imaginären.

Archaische Männerpolyphonie wird mit Elementen von Jazz, orientalischer Musik und Latin sowie der innovativen Verwendung traditioneller korsischer Instrumente wie der 16-saitigen Zither Cetera, der Trommel Colombu und der Flöte Pivana zu einer aufregenden Mischung eingeschmolzen, die der Einzigartigkeit korsischer Musikkultur globale Standards verschafft.


Besetzung

Jérôme Casalonga – Komposition, Gesang, Saxophon, Klarinette
Laurent Barbolosi – Gesang, Violine, Trompete
Jérémy Lohier – Akkordeon, Gesang
Marco Tindiglia – Gitarre
Ricardo Barbera – Bass
Francesco Petreni – Schlagzeug


Diskographie

2012 Carnavale (Casa Editions)
2007 Camina (Casa Editions)
2004 Luna (Casa Editions)
1999 Lucia (Casa Editions)
1997 Zamballarana (Casa Editions)


Presse

„Sechs jungen Männern mit sonnigen Gemütern und einem sicheren Gespür für die Verschmelzbarkeit verschiedenster Folk-Stile gelingt mit ihrer Band Zamballarana eine unverfrorene Melange aus traditionellem korsischen Harmoniegesang, südamerikanischem Blech-Sound, Latin-Rhythmen und einer Vielzahl weiterer Stilelemente, die man teilweise erst beim zweiten oder dritten Hören (…) aufspürt.
Thüringer Allgemeine, DE

Der nachhaltige Eindruck, den der spezielle, archaische Männergesang hinterlässt, wird durch die vielschichtigen Rhythmen und die bestechenden Instrumentalsoli gesteigert.
Concerto, AT

„Frische und starke Emotionen!“
Le Monde de la Musique, FR

“Diese Musik ist profan ohne Pathos, voller Frische und Enthusiasmus. Bravo!“
Trad Magazine, FR

Didier Laloy (Belgien)

Der verrückte Hund und die Noblesse:
BELEM Didier Laloy & Kathy Adam

Seit langem kennen und schätzen sich diese zwei herausragenden Figuren der aktuellen belgischen Szene – von ihrer Zusammenarbeit im erfolgreichen Neotrad- Ensemble Panta Rhei ebenso wie in den verschiedenen Projekten von Didier Laloy wie Po:Z’s oder Noir’s. Aber es sollte 20 Jahre dauern bis ihre künstlerische Seelenverwandschaft als Duo so richtig ans Licht kam.

Beide flirten sie gerne mit der Kammermusik und lieben doch auch das Tänzerische. Die Kompositionen sind gleichzeitig einfach und stark, subtil und überraschend, das Atmen und die Stille verbinden sich voller Eleganz mit den verrücktesten Rhythmen. Ein zärtlicher Bilderreigen der die Zuhörenden in eine ganz eigene Welt entführt. Die Lust der beiden am gemeinsamen Spiel ist fast körperlich spürbar, die Virtuosität und schiere Freude ihrer Musik lassen niemanden unberührt.

Der Ausnahmekönner Didier Laloy ist einer der aktivsten Vertreter der Renaissance des diatonischen Akkordeons in Europa. Mit Humor und Leichtigkeit bewegt er sich auf der Bühne und durch die unterschiedlichsten Stile – von World über Chanson bis hin zu zeitgenössischer Musik und musikalischen Projekten für Kinder. Darüberhinaus war er Mitglied des transeuropäischen Akkordeonkollektivs The Samurai.

Kathy Adam studierte Cello und Kammermusik in Brüssel und steht seit 20 Jahren in den verschiedensten Projekten und Genres auf der Bühne: So arbeitet sie mit World- und Jazzmusikern ebenso zusammen wie mit Theater- und Tanzproduktionen, SängerInnen oder Philharmonischen Orchestern.


Aktuelle Projekte von Didier Laloy

Duo Didier Laloy (acc) & Quentin Dujardin (guit)
Belem & The MeKanics (Didier Laloy & Kathy Adam und ein mechanisches Orchester)
Belem (Didier Laloy & Kathy Adam)
Belem & Ensemble Quartz (Didier Laloy & Kathy Adam & belgisches Bläserquartett)
Belem & Slang (Didier Laloy & Kathy Adam & belgisches Jazztrio)
Belem & Barbara Fortuna (Didier Laloy & Kathy Adam & korsisches Vokalensemble)
Noir’s (Quartett acc – cello – guit – perc, Konzert im Dunkeln)
Duo Didier Laloy (acc) & Tuur Florizoone (acc)
Didier Laloy’s Cameleon Tribe (flexible Formation zwischen Trio und Quintett)


Diskographie

2019 Water and Fire / Didier Laloy & Quentin Dujardin (Agua Music)
2017 Belem & The MeKanics (Igloo Records)
2014 Belem Didier Laloy & Kathy Adam (Homerecords.be)
2012 Didier Laloy & Tuur Florizoone (Aventura Musica)
2011 Noir’s (Wild Boar Music)
2009 Milann&Laloy “La Marquise”
2008 Didier Laloy PôZ’s
2005 CD/DVD Didier Laloy “Invite…s”
2003 Didier Laloy “S-Tres/Version Originale”


Presse

„Fantastische Welt-Kammermusik aus Belgien.“ ORF Ö1, A, 2015

„Auf dem Duoalbum sind nur die beiden Musiker zu hören. Doch zu keinem Zeitpunkt wirkt die rein instrumentale Musik dünn oder skizzenhaft. Im Gegenteil, der Klang ist wuchtig, wie ein kleines Folkorchester. Ein besonderes Lob geht deshalb an den Produzenten Michel van Achter.“
Folker, D, 2015/01

„Vom ersten Ton an entstand ein Sog, dem sich niemand entziehen konnte. Was war da zu hören? Jazz, Folk, Moderne, Weltmusik? Oder einfach nur gute Musik im besten Sinne des Wortes?“
Mitteldeutsche Zeitung, D, 2011

„Seine musikalische Ausdrucksform gleicht einem ungeschliffenen Diamanten… Das Verlassensein, die dunklen und tiefen Abgründe, aber auch die Sehnsüchte und das Bezaubernde sind immer wieder Parameter, die sich in all seinen Projekten und Werken widerspiegeln. Und bei einem Konzert reitet ihn nicht nur die Liebe, sondern auch der Teufel.“
Concerto, A, 2011

„Die wilde Motorik eines Rockmusikers mit der Anmut einer Ballerina in Slowmotion.“
De Volkskrant, B, 2009

Branko Galoić (Kroatien/Frankreich)

Troubadour mit Tiefgang und Partytauglichkeit

Der Singer-Songwriter, Komponist und Gitarrist Branko Galoić wurde 1973 in Ivanić-Grad nahe Zagreb noch im damaligen Jugoslawien geboren. Von Anfang an verband er Rockmusik mit Elementen der traditionellen Balkanmusik.

2000 zog Branko nach Amsterdam. Ein paar Jahre später erschien bei Snail Records sein Debütalbum Above The Roofs, produziert von Dragi Sestić, dem Produzenten der Mostar Sevdah Reunion. Die CD wurde international veröffentlicht und erhielt in ganz Europa hervorragende Kritiken. Branko Galoić hat mit einigen der herausragendsten Balkan MusikerInnen gearbeitet wie zb Mostar Sevdah Reunion, Vlatko Stefanovski oder Merima Kljuco. In Amsterdam brachte er zwei weitere Alben heraus, Skakavac und Ej ti tu!, anschliessend lebte er für einige Jahre in Berlin, wo er mit dem Mundharmonikavirtuosen Marko Jovanović Super Cug einspielte.

Die Musik von Branko Galoić wurzelt in der Tradition Ex-Jugoslawiens und mischt sich mit den verschiedensten Stilen von Rock über Ska, Pop und Chanson. Über die Jahre hat er mit MusikerInnen aus Griechenland, der Türkei, dem Libanon, Irak, aus Lateinamerika, Holland, Deutschland, Frankreich und Ex-Jugoslawien gespielt und aus all diesen Einflüssen seinen eigenen unverwechselbaren Stil kreiert, der auch schon mit Troubadouren wie Jaques Brel oder Alain Stivell verglichen wurde.

Seit 2014 lebt Branko in Paris, wo sein Ende 2015 erschienenes Album Angel Song vom kultigen FIP Radio als eine der Entdeckungen der Saison gefeiert wurde. Das Album schaffte es auf Anhieb auf Platz 15 der World Music Charts Europe und wurde auch für den Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik nominiert. Seit 2016 wird Angel Song von Galileo Music im deutschsprachigen Raum vertrieben.

2018 erschien das  Duoalbum One With The Wind mit dem ebenfalls in Paris lebenden portugiesischen Gitarristen Francisco Cordovil, und für Anfang 2021 ist der Release von Ples Slobode / La Danse de la Liberté in grösserer Besetzung geplant.


Aktuelle Projekte

Duo Branko Galoić & Francisco Cordovil (2 Gitarren & Gesang)
Branko Galoić Quartett (guit – voc – perc – cello)
Branko Galoić Skakavac Orkestar (5-8 Bigband mit Bläsern)


Diskografie

2021 Ples Slobode / Danse de la Liberté (SuperPitch)
2018 One With The Wind (Galileo Music)
2015 Angel Song (Silvox Music/Galileo Music)
2014 Super Cug (CD Baby, digital release)
2011 82 Ej ti tu! (Silvox Music)
2010 Skakavac (self-released/Xango Music, CD Baby digital distribution)
2005 Above The Roofs (Snail Records)


Presse

„Ein spannendes Roadmovie, das die flimmernden Töne des Südens mit nur zwei Gitarren in all ihrer Intensität und einer hautnahmen Körperlichkeit bündelt.“
Stefan Franzen, Programmbuch Festival Herbstgold, AT, 2018

„Kroatien und Portugal als explosive Mischung (…) ein bombastisches Erlebnis“
Mittelbadische Presse, DE, 2017

„Auf Angel Song präsentiert Galoić einen phasenweise eklektisch wirkenden, aber unverwechselbar eigenen Stil … vom Gipsy Balkan Brass über Turbo-Reggae bis hin zu süditalienisch anmutender Filmmusik, so als drehe sich ein Kirmeskarussell in einem Fellini-Klassiker.“
Radio Bremen CD Tipp Angel Song, DE, 2016

„Die Musik der Kombo ist sehr schwungvoll, aber auch wehmütig-romantisch bis verträumt, ganz wie man das von stilvollem Balkan-Folk gewohnt ist. Dazu kommt noch die unaufdringliche Nähe, mit der die Musik an den Mann (oder an die Frau) gebracht wird. Dann noch ein Touch Ex-Jugoslawien-Feeling, denn immerhin spielte sich ein Teil seiner Jugend noch im Tito-Reich ab. Und das hört man hier und da schon noch heraus. Mit anderen Worten: Die „Angel Songs“ sind jederzeit zu empfehlen.“
Sound&Image über Angel Song, DE, 2016

„New strong hope for balkan music“
Zlatko Gall, Free Dalmatia, CRO, 2013

„You can wake me up with songs like Fraukje tango any time“
Ton Maas Volskrant, Amsterdam, NL, 2011