Ayom

Black Atlantic Music

Website: www.ayommusic.com
Presskit: Download
Origin: Angola, Brazil, Greece, Italy
Booking Territory: Austria
in collaboration with Eiden Music
Booking Contact: Sabina Schebrak

Upcoming Shows

06/03/23 Treibhaus Innsbruck Austria
30/07/23 Musikfest Waidhofen/Thaya Austria
01/12/23 Konzerthaus Vienna Austria
02/12/23 Greith-Haus St. Ulrich im Greith Austria

About

Rooted in Afro-Brazilian music, at the same time cosmopolitan, virtuosic, witty and warm-hearted: this is the fascinating four-nation sextet around the charismatic Brazilian singer Jabu Morales and the Italian accordionist Alberto Becucci, which was named best band of 2021 by the British trade magazine Songlines.

Migration, freedom and poetry: Ayom are musical seafarers who cross the Black Atlantic from Brazil to Angola and Cape Verde while retaining a distinct Mediterranean identity. Their music is a mixture of Brazilian, tropical, Afrolatin and Afrolusitanian sounds, played with irresistible swing. A tropical sun that penetrates grey clouds.

The band name Ayom refers to the “Lord of Music” that in Afro-Brazilian mythology (Candomblè) lives in the drum and taught humans how to make music and sing. Ayom combine century old traditions with the black and rhythmic language of Lusophone cultures and take their audience on a hot-stepping, spiritual voyage across the African diaspora.

They celebrate their nomadic, profound, provocative and danceable musicality, peacefully mixing tradition and modernity, masculine and feminine, poetry and energy, joie de vivre and political statement.


Line Up

Jabu Morales – vocals, percussion
Alberto Becucci – accordion
Timoteo Grignani – percussion
Walter Martins – percussion
Ricardo Quinteria – guitar
Francesco Valente – bass


Awards

2021 Songlines Music Award Best Band
2021 Songlines Nomination Best 10 groups 2021
2021 Best Album World Music Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik
2021 Transglobal world music chart #29 January
2020 Top of the world 10 Albums Songlines
2020 Top 15 world music albums Spin the Globe


Press

“The band Ayom sound as if they had been cultivating their Brazil-Cape Verde-Mediterranean mix for years. Yet the Brazilian singer Jabu Morales only met the Forró Quartet from Italy almost two years ago. The variety of rhythms used is overwhelming: merengue, samba, cumbia, calypso, tarantella, polka…. that could go wrong! But it succeeds extremely well, is infectiously cheerful, light-footed and airy. A compact rhythm section, a multi-faceted accordion, a radiant lead voice, a well-balanced production, and there you have the good-mood album of the season.”
Jodok Kobelt, Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik

“Every minute of this album is a surprise. If this band sounds this good live, they’re really going to hit it out of the park on the post-pandemic tour… Their trade wind sound may be based on a fusion of influences or the discovery of common ancestors, but it has enough sensual charm to put aside the question of influence and just enjoy a big, lilting melody that bounces between languages and rhythms.”
Afropop

“Exceptionally vibrant, beautiful and infectious music… A very engaging Afro-Brazilian fusion and perfect for dancing.”
MixedWorldMusic.com, NL

Ayom

Black Atlantic Music

Website: www.ayommusic.com
Presskit: Coming soon
Origin: Angola, Brazil, Greece, Italy
Booking Territory: Austria
Booking Contact: Sabina Schebrak

Upcoming Shows

19/08/22 Treibhaus Innsbruck Austria
14/10/22 Festival Jazz&The City Salzburg Austria
15/10/22 Festival Jazz&The City Salzburg Austria

About

In der afrobrasilianischen Musik verwurzelt, gleichzeitig weltoffen, virtuos, witzig und warmherzig: So fasziniert die Musik dieses Vier-Nationen-Sextetts rund um die charismatische brasilianische Sängerin Jabu Morales und den italienischen Akkordeonisten Alberto Becucci, das von der Fachzeitschrift Songlines als beste Band des Jahres 2021 ausgezeichnet wurde.

Migration, Freiheit und Poesie: Ayom sind musikalische Seefahrer, die den Schwarzen Atlantik von Brasilien nach Angola und Kap Verde überqueren und sich dabei eine deutliche mediterrane Identität bewahren. Ihre Musik ist eine Mischung aus brasilianischen, tropischen, afrolatinischen und afrolusitanischen Klängen, gespielt mit unwiderstehlichem Swing. Eine tropische Sonne die graue Wolken durchdringt.

Der Name und Titel des gleichnamigen Debütalbums Ayom bezieht sich auf den „Herrn der Musik“, der in der afro-brasilianischen Mythologie (Candomblè) in der Trommel lebt und den Menschen das Musizieren und Singen beigebracht hat. Ayom verbinden jahrhundertealte Traditionen mit der schwarzen und rhythmischen Sprache der lusophonen Kulturen und nehmen ihr Publikum mit auf eine rasante, spirituelle Reise durch die afrikanische Diaspora.

Sie zelebrieren ihre nomadische, tiefgründige, provokante und tanzbare Musikalität, in der sich Tradition und Moderne, Männliches und Weibliches, Poesie und Energie, Lebensfreude und politisches Statement friedlich mischen.


Besetzung

Jabu Morales – Vocals, Percussion
Alberto Becucci – Akkordeon
Timoteo Grignani – Percussion
Walter Martins – Percussion
Ricardo Quinteria – Guitar
Francesco Valente – Bass


Erfolge

2021 Songlines Music Award Best Band
2021 Songlines Nomination Best 10 groups 2021
2021 Bestes Album Weltmusik Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik
2021 Transglobal world music chart #29 January
2020 Top of the world 10 Albums Songlines
2020 Top 15 world music albums Spin the Globe


Presse

„Die Band Ayom klingt, als würde sie schon jahrelang ihren Brasilien-Kapverden-Mittelmeer-Mix pflegen. Dabei traf die brasilianische Sängerin Jabu Morales erst vor knapp zwei Jahren auf das Forró Quartett aus Italien. Die Vielfalt der eingesetzten Rhythmen ist überwältigend: Merengue, Samba, Cumbia, Calypso, Tarantella, Polka…. das könnte auch schief gehen! Gelingt aber äusserst gut, ist ansteckend fröhlich, leichtfüssig und luftig. Eine kompakte Rhythmustruppe, ein facettenreiches Akkordeon, eine strahlende Leadstimme, eine ausgewogene Produktion, und fertig ist das Gute-Laune-Album der Saison.“
Jodok Kobelt, Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik

„Jede Minute dieses Albums ist eine Überraschung. Wenn diese Band live so gut klingt, werden sie auf der Post-Pandemie-Tournee richtig abräumen… Ihr Passatwind-Sound mag auf der Verschmelzung von Einflüssen oder der Entdeckung gemeinsamer Vorfahren basieren, aber er hat genug sinnlichen Charme, um die Frage nach dem Einfluss beiseite zu lassen und einfach eine große, beschwingte Melodie zu genießen, die zwischen den Sprachen und Rhythmen hüpft.“
Afropop

„Außergewöhnlich lebendige, schöne und ansteckende Musik… Eine sehr fesselnde afro-brasilianische Fusion und perfekt zum Tanzen.“
MixedWorldMusic.com, NL